Quick! I need $6,000! in The Mundane Ramblings of an Insane Mind

  • June 25, 2017, 9:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Here’s the deal… our house is under foreclosure and has been for over a year. Our previous sale date was June 19, but has been moved to July 24th. We applied for and were approved for the NJ Hardest Hit fund, which is basically a $48,000 gift/grant from the state of NJ. The problem is, we need to come up with the remaining money.. which is $8419. We can manage about $1,419, and someone from our church is anonymously donating $1,000 IF we can raise the rest of the money. We have BAD credit, and almost no collateral. My wife’s car is leased, and mine’s worth MAYBE $1,000, but it runs like crap, plus I just blew out a tire so I’m driving on a donut.

The good news is, I got a new job… the one I mentioned last week. I applied Thursday, and the guy called me on Friday at 5pm and offered me the job.. and I started on Monday.. and so far, not only have I really liked it (plus it’s super easy), but I’ve really “clicked” with some of my co-workers.

Basically, it’s just driving a van, delivering tires to gas stations, auto body shops, dealerships, etc. And loading tires into the vans. We get there, load tires, do the morning run, come back, eat lunch, do the afternoon run, come back, and maybe load some more tires onto the transfer truck, or just go home. It’s easily 40 hours per week, with some possible overtime. I have to work every other Saturday, which my wife is NOT happy about… Even though we really need the money.

Following are the benefits of my new job over Amazon:

  1. New job is 3 miles from my house (as opposed to 23 for Amazon!) - Commuting time is 20 minutes both ways as opposed to 90 minutes… more time in my day!
  2. Hours are basically 8:30 - 5 M - F and every other Saturday (til about 1:30) instead of 6:30pm - 5 am.
  3. Work is non-stressful and easy as pie, with no quotas to fill.
  4. PAID lunch.
  5. I get my tires wholesale. Basically, company cost + $3 per tire. So, that new tire to replace the one I blew out will only cost me $44.00! (Of course, I still have to get it mounted and balanced).
  6. The work was getting SO monotonous at Amazon, my brain couldn’t take it anymore. I like to drive, so I can listen to the radio in the van. And the days/hours go by so FAST as opposed to Amazon!

Amazon was an interesting experience.. just not for me for the long haul.

New job also has full benefits after 90 days including vacation, profit sharing, medical, holidays, etc.

That’s it for now.. talk at ya soon!


Deleted user June 26, 2017

Glad to hear that you got the new position! I think it would work out better for you anyways, I have heard that working for Amazon was pretty rough.

IllegalAlias Deleted user ⋅ June 27, 2017

Yeah, I gave it a shot, but it just wasn't for me. New job is easy, and kinda fun.

Also, out of the blue, my old boss called me and wants me to come back to work (Domino's, part time nights)... so that might happen.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.