Soliloquies In Skeletal Keys in POETRY

  • June 23, 2017, 8:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

White-knuckled and pristine, she meanders between lamp-post shadows like ectoplasm in the wake of phantasma

Translucently pale
Stained in rusty gore
I can not lament the death of the Devil’s whore

With whom I gave my soul
For hope
And auspicious sincerity

Like tattered clothes on bi-serrated wire
My heart
Is an empty cavity full of desire

I swooned to the emptiness of her muse and now cannot rid my head of the tune

Metal objects and glass shards are the sympathy card, and every scar is an apology for wanting more…

than this
..... eternal emptiness

Daylight comes when my eyes are closed
My mind resides in darkness
Since she’s killed all hope

Words engraved can not tell the tale of how this bed was made
Conned into believing that life was worth saving

Foolishly thinking that today is not tomorrow
It took me a lifetime to realize
That she was just another chapter
In my legacy of sorrow.

By: Jaye Eryk
Copyright ©2008


Mystery June 23, 2017

Nice! Is that you in your profile pic? It almost looks like a young Rod Stewart. :)

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Mystery ⋅ June 23, 2017

Yes, it's me. Rod Stewart... is that a good thing? lol

Mystery Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ June 23, 2017

LOL, cute. :)

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Mystery ⋅ June 25, 2017

I guess I'll take your word for it. ty :)

Marg June 24, 2017

Brilliant. I find your poetry needs read a few times because there's just so much in it. It's easy to miss things in a first reading.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Marg ⋅ June 25, 2017

I like to leave it open to interpretation. I just hope they connect emotionally with readers, it doesn't matter if it's understood. :)

Shattered June 24, 2017

Well done, as always.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.