Early Summer Ramblings in General

  • June 22, 2017, 8 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Microsoft word gives me the fits. It defaults to Calibri 11 pt font, which for some reason I find as obnoxious as hell. I was career military. Since we got computers in the early 90s the standard font is Times New Roman 12 point.

Over and over I have reset the MS Word Default font to TNR12, and every time I open a new document it goes back to Calibri11.

Well, with that of my chest I have to say it has been a pretty start to summer. Temps high, humidity low. Mostly raining over night. Mostly sunshine and a good breeze coming off the ocean. Quite lovely. Almost more August than June. But I’ll take what I can get.

I am only using the AC in the bedroom when I go to bed. I like to sleep cool, which also explains why I leave the upstairs heat off all winter. I am only up there when I go to bed. During the winter, showering first thing in the morning can be an issue.

I’ve been taking Benadryl. Which takes all of the wind out of my sails. The two things I accomplished today were waxing my car and blowing the sand out of the garage. Benadryl keeps the runny nose and itchy eyes under control, but the achy joints are a bit of a puzzle. If it is serious, I guess I’ll find out in August when I get my annual physical.

Watching the first episode of Law and Order Criminal Intent’s first episode. Being a L&O junkie, I would have thought I had seen that one. Vincent D’Onofrio’s character was much more circumspect at the beginning of the series. It is a weird word, but he was almost demure. Not an adjective I would normally attach to a big man.

Last night I tried to call three High School Friends. None answered the phone. I left messages.

I can’t really complain. I have been known to ignore phone calls. But usually from out of state, from blocked numbers, from X1.

But these dudes never answer their phones. I was just trying to get a feel of how many would be at the reunion on July 15th.

There is a reason Stephen King writes about this area so often: People are just fucking weird up here. TP, whose father built him a house in Bowdoinham hasn’t talked to his family in 15 years. His father is severely ill. His mother isn’t doing so well either.

SF lives with his parents. He is a welder at BIW and makes a lot of money yet still sleeps in the same bed he slept in high school.

JS lives down in Rhode Island, married to a hyper-liberal bitch vegan. Hates his life. Has a dozen cats. Dude was my High School confidant and Physics lab partner.

What the Fuck?

GB now has a live in girlfriend. She is marginally attractive, nice face. Weighs about 400lbs. Smokes. I don’t get it, and he knows his friends don’t get it. But if it works for him. And not that I am an expert in what women find attractive about men, but he is good looking, tall, fit. The only thing I can assume is she has an incredible personality… in bed. Because I have met her. And I find nothing about her, appearance, or personality wise attractive. Not my call.

I just wish an old friend would answer the phone once in a while.

I talked with Sandy for quite awhile last night, It was 129F in Phoenix. That bested my personal best of 127F in Saudi Arabia! Suck it Prince Sultan! Phoenix just kicked your ass!


Last updated June 23, 2017


gattaca June 22, 2017

So you're saying it's like 'Salem's Lot without the vampires?

Duke gattaca ⋅ June 23, 2017

I'm pretty sure there are Vampires. Just ride up Main Street in Lisbon Falls (which is 'Salem's Lot) and you will find yourself wondering what is sleeping in those basements.

gattaca June 22, 2017

You know that Benadryl is the key ingredient in Sominex, right? Those OTC sleep meds all trade on a side effect of diphenhydramine - they make you sleepy.

Duke gattaca ⋅ June 23, 2017

Yep, diphenhydramine has the wonderful effect of telling your brain to just shut the fuck up. Good as a sleep aid. My eye doctor always asks about it though, so apparently Benadryl also effects your eyes. I only take it when allergies get bad.

Deleted user June 23, 2017

Weird they don't answer their phones . Have you tried texting ?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.