Life on the coast in Talk Story

  • June 21, 2017, 6:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha…

I have just come back inside… after spending an hour watering all of my container plants…

After months and months (and months) of rain… summer has finally arrived… 90f on Sunday… 89f today… and my plants were starting to show signs of the heat…

This is a nice time of the day… still very warm… but the sun is lower on the horizon so it won’t burn the leaves as I get water on them…

My collection of succulents now number over a hundred different varieties … I also have a modest collection of bamboo plants…

My deck in back is ringed with assorted junipers and holly plants (my feeble attempt to discourage the deer from coming up and eating the succulents)…

The pest I have the most trouble with are the chipmunks… they steal sunflower seeds from my neighbor’s bird feeders… then come over to my place and bury them in the succulent pots… leaving holes… as well as sunflower starts…

While outside this evening… in addition to squirrels and chipmunks… the hawk returned and is sitting on a branch in back… perhaps he/she will help me with my chipmunk problem…

All remains well with me…

Thanks for drifting by… and for your notes to me…

Aloha oe...............


TruNorth June 21, 2017

I prefer chipmunks to squirrels.

Maui Jim TruNorth ⋅ June 21, 2017

Yes... both taste a bit like chicken don't you think...? (island humor)

^..^Kat June 22, 2017

Chipmunks are so cute, we don't have them around here. I have two squirrels that mooch bird seed from me daily though. I even put it into a plastic storage tote to try and keep it away from them, but they chewed through it. I give up and just enjoy their presence now.

Slowpoke June 22, 2017

enjoy your weather. As you probably know We had 102 degrees and higher for a week. Too Hot for me. I sat in front of the A/C every day all week. Take Care.

Maui Jim Slowpoke ⋅ June 23, 2017

98f at my house yesterday... well over 100f in town...!

crystal butterfly June 23, 2017

The hawk at our house swoops down and gets other birds. We have a few deer resistant plants. So far this year they have let the rose bush bloom. Last year the minute the buds opened they were somebody's snack.

Maui Jim crystal butterfly ⋅ June 23, 2017

We have lots of deer (my property backs up to the state park)... and the only way I can (try and) defeat them... is to have stuff that they don't like... my succulents being an exception...
But... they were here first... so I try and be a good neighbor... (sigh)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.