Toys: Hello Dolly! in Creations

  • July 12, 2013, 3:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

After my grandson was born, I crocheted a "bear" for him. I put bear in quotation marks because it hardly looked like a bear. It looked more like a ... well, I don't know what to call it, but it sure didn't look like a teddy bear. You tell me ~

Later on, I knitted a bear for my daughter whose nickname as a baby/toddler was Sherry Bear. It looked more like what the pattern described ~

My youngest granddaughter got a bit jealous of Mason's bear, which he still sleeps with every night regardless of how imperfect I think it is. She wanted me to make something for her. This was the end product ~

I liked the way this little girl turned out.

All in all, I'd say I'm a bit better at knitting than crocheting.


Lobbastah July 12, 2013

Those are all so cute! I've been crocheting for years, but only recently took up knitting. I need to get better so I can make cute stuff like this!

Deleted user July 12, 2013

Bear #1 is clearly a Koala Who is Very Pleased.

The girl is brilliant. I especially like the strands of blonde in the brown and how that's almost repeated in the leggings.

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ July 12, 2013

Bear #1 also reminds me a lot of Piglet. Maybe he's Piglet & Pooh's love child.

Rick July 12, 2013

Sometimes it's the imperfections that give things character and charm. This would be the case for Mason's bear, and it has a whole lot of character and charm. Imperfect, yes, and beautiful--yes!

That little girl did turn out very nicely indeed. You're good! :)

Deleted user July 13, 2013

Love them all. They're all snuggly and cuddly and made with enormous love.

SweetMelissa July 20, 2013

i love all of them! and how in the world did you get the hair right? I have a pattern for a mermaid doll that I knitted for my niece years ago...Everything except the hair is finished because I just cant get the hair right.

Linda SweetMelissa ⋅ July 20, 2013

Thanks! I used Malabrigo sock yarn. It seemed to do the best. I just sewed it in one strand at a time, like you're adding fringe to the end of a scarf. If you don't like how it looks, it is easy to take out and do again.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.