Feeling unwell in the heat in The View from the Terrace

  • June 20, 2017, 1:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We got back from Cornwall on Saturday evening. We had a lovely few days. Unfortunately I started to feel unwell while we were there and have been feeling worse over these last few days. I couldn’t sleep on my first night there and kept having the feeling that I couldn’t take a full breath. I got up and made a coffee, not the right thing I know but we didn’t have any more suitable hot drinks with us, after an hour doing a jigsaw on Hubby’s tablet I felt better and went back to bed. I thought maybe it was just that I was missing my usual routine, I usually do a jigsaw online before bed, it relaxes me.

I was still getting the breathing problem now and then and decided to see the doctor when I got home but it was not too bad until the Friday. We were checking out of the caravan that morning and decided to drive up the north coast of Cornwall visiting some places on the way. We drove home in 2 stages spending a night in a Travelodge in Somerset. We do that now as Hubby can’t drive more than 100 miles in one day any more and I can never be sure if I will be well and able to share the driving, so we didn’t need to leave Cornwall until late afternoon. We had lunch in a lovely hotel in Tintagel but I already felt a bit breathless. I think it might be the hot weather. The temperature shot up on Friday and there was no air conditioning anywhere. After lunch we had a look around a medieval house and were walking around the shops when I began to feel awful. I couldn’t get my breath and I felt a bit faint. We went back to the car and Hubby said I could sit there while he had a nap. Hubby has to have a nap every afternoon especially if he is driving. He fell asleep quickly but we were in a big car park facing the sun and I felt so hot. If I got out of the car I felt breathless. I was finding breathing hard and my neck felt tight. I was actually scared I might be going to have a heart attack although I only had a slight pain in my left shoulder and I’ve been getting that for ages. Eventually Hubby woke up and once we were on the road I felt better so we decided to make a final visit to Boscastle, a favourite of mine. It is in a valley by the sea and I felt fine there. I noticed that all the week I felt fine when I was near the sea.

After the night at the travelodge in Somerset I was feeling so much better that we decided to visit Bridgewater for lunch. Once again I was fine until after lunch. By this time we were on our way home and I was so hot I couldn’t help with driving but luckily Hubby was feeling fine. Since getting home the temperature has gone even higher and I now find if I can’t go outside for more than a minute or two in the afternoon. If I do my throat tightens and I feel it is hard to breathe. I have been staying mosly in the living room with the fan on. Even going upstairs sets me off. Our house is an old cottage with low ceilings and it’s really hot up there even with all of the windows wide open.

I rang the doctors yesterday morning but my doctor can’t see me until a week on Thursday. I thought that would be OK and I made the appointment then arranged to have my hair cut that afternoon but I felt so ill as soon as I went outside I realised I wouldn’t be able to walk from the car park to the hairdressers in town so I cancelled it. It’s really frustrating as my hair has grown quite long and is making me hotter. Hubby offerred to cut it for me but I’m not letting him near it! I also need to go to the opticians as the glasses I use for the computer have broken, but everything is on hold until I feel better. I have loads of plants that need putting in the garden. I had been waiting for the wet weather to end, now it has but I still can’t get out there.

Yesterday I didn’t feel back to normal until late evening. I am wondering if I should ring the doctor again and ask for an urgent appointment. I don’t know what is wrong or whether it is urgent. I have been wondering if I might have developed asthma, my grandma had it. I’ve never had problems before though.

I will write about our trip soon and put up photos.


Deleted user June 21, 2017

Wow! Hoping you get these symptoms figured out and feel better. It has not been that hot here ...

Marg June 21, 2017

That doesn't sound so good - I would get a quicker appointment if you can. I feel your pain - I had to turn back from a hairdresser's appointment yesterday afternoon because I became unwell on the drive there. So frustrating. My hair's a mess!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.