Impatient Patient in Packrat

  • June 20, 2017, 8:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m NOT a patient patient; I’m not patient even when well. I don’t like coming to work part time; I feel I just get started on something and then have to cut it off. Right now, though, I come in just enough not to get overly tired. Everyone tells me that it’ll be about six months before I feel like myself because I was in bed or a wheelchair for three; I thought that I’d be able to go because of all that “rest”, but ED had a leg injury that landed him in the hospital and said while not using it the muscles atrophy and have to work themselves out. Great.

I’m also tired of getting my bandages changed; it takes the nurses here nearly an hour to do what my home health nurses could do in five minutes, so at the end of my work day I still have another hour to go. I’m tired of wearing the boot, which is heavy on my foot, and getting it wrapped because the bandages make my foot a little higher than my other leg so my walk is affected.

I’m tired of being tired. I started to clean out my cat room but didn’t get as far along as I normally could because I tire easily. Allergies have something to do with that as well. I’m tired of feeling limited. I’m tired of feeling that I want to get out and about but knowing I’ll get tired if I attempt it.

I know if I’m a good girl and do as Dr. C says I’ll heal completely and I can already see that what he said would happen has. I think part of my malady is that I’m no longer too tired, sick, or drugged up not to care; I can, as they say, “see the barn doors” but I still have to get there. I’m sooooo very close and yet still on my way.

My car is already healed; it’s such a pleasure to drive when it runs well. I don’t have to stomp on my clutch or the gas to keep it from dying on me the way it did three times in the city. The old boy keeps going!

While cleaning I found areas where my cats used other places other than their litter box; the lady who helps us doesn’t clean as thoroughly as I do, and if the box isn’t clean the cats will go elsewhere. I’ve at least taken that back over. Many of my books have been ruined as a result. One that survived intact was a biography of U2 - U2: The Unforgettable Fire. I’m reading that now - I’ll try to keep my U2 comments to a minimum so none of you have to fear reading my entries or start rolling your eyes at me. But we grew up together; they’re only two and three years older than I am.

I’m too young to feel this old!


Last updated June 21, 2017


ConnieK June 20, 2017

Think of patience as spiritual/personal growth. Or come to Florida. We'll drink mimosas by the pool and talk about how age brings wisdom and and a betraying body and how nobody warned you of this irony. :)

Deleted user June 20, 2017

I know a lot about how you are feeling although I am never going to get better , so there is that to deal with too. It's so frustrating to live with limitations that you never imagined you would have to ..,

edna million June 21, 2017

It's so hard to feel better yet still be limited in your physical activity-- it almost is worse than feeling bad enough to not do anything! Well, of course it's a lot better to be so improved, but it's mentally frustrating.

NorthernSeeker June 21, 2017

Unfortunately a large part of rehabbing an injury comes down to the discipline of not doing too much physically. Sounds like you are doing well at getting the right amount of exercise for where you are at right now even if the lack of activity is driving you crazy. Have you got any art projects on the go?

Serin June 25, 2017

A little impatience is a good thing in a patient. I think it's a healthier attitude, as long as you don't push yourself into re-injury.

Oswego June 29, 2017

You're definitely getting back to where you want to be. I'm so sorry you've had all that rehab to go through, but I know what a strong person you are and with such an indomitable will.

Take good care,

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.