Maui Jim (electrician)... not...! in Talk Story

  • June 17, 2017, 9:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha…

Repairing things here at the house is not one of my spiritual gifts… in fact I sometimes refer to myself as not being the sharpest tool in the shed when it comes to home repair work…

So… tonight’s adventure: I switched on the garbage disposal… let some stuff run down the drain… then shut it off… or rather tried to shut it off…

The wall switch was broken… stuck in the on position…

WTF… now what should I do…?

Oh… duct tape… heck duct tape fixes almost everything…

So out to the garage… cut a piece and placed it over the switch so it would now stay in the off position…

Hmmmm… what if the tape comes off during the night and my house burns to the ground…

And while I was pondering that… the tape came off… and the disposal started up again…

Oh… I know what to do… something I should have done in the beginning… I opened the doors under the sink… and unplugged the disposal…

Problem solved (for now)…

Smiles/Aloha oe...............


dream seeker June 17, 2017

Yep, duct tape fixes everything, and you can even find pretty patterns so it looks like it belongs there! lol I hope it's a quick, easy repair!

Maui Jim dream seeker ⋅ June 17, 2017

I have to replace the switch on the wall... not sure how complicated that will be...

crystal butterfly June 17, 2017

I have no shut of valves on any of my water lines. If I have a problem I have to shut the water off to the whole house!

Maui Jim crystal butterfly ⋅ June 17, 2017

I think my house is the same...

aunty EM June 18, 2017

Oh, Jim! You are a genius.

Maui Jim aunty EM ⋅ June 18, 2017

Not...! but thanks for silly compliment...

TruNorth June 19, 2017

Make sure you turn off the electricity to the switch before you replace it - usually one of the fuses in the fuse box controls electricity to that switch.

Maui Jim TruNorth ⋅ June 19, 2017

Done...!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.