"What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger"... in The Mundane Ramblings of an Insane Mind

  • June 16, 2017, 3:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

That’s a load of crap. It’s more like.. it just kills you slowly.

My job took its toll on me. Right now I’m on a leave of absence for 7 days. I ended up with an upper respiratory infection. I’m scheduled to return to work next Thursday, but in the meantime, I’m looking for another job.

I filled out an application today for a driving position, and ended up with an interview on the spot. That is looking good. About 10 minutes from my house. Instead of the 45 minute commute I have now.

I finally got my car registration renewed today. 3 months overdue! Had a couple of close calls with police, but never actually got pulled over. Also renewed my license. My new pic makes me look like a badass.

More good news: I am down 10 pounds! And yes, I notice a difference.

Also, changing my eating habits. Kicked gluten/bread/pasta to the curb. And feeling a difference. Sugar is next. That’s a tough one, but I’ve cut WAY down.

And, I’m actually doing zero carb, or pretty close to it! All meat. No veggies, no fruits. Actually doing it!

Sunday, as you know, is Father’s Day, which means yet another dreaded trip to my in-laws. Can’t get out of this one. Because, you know, the day isn’t actually about ME. I just hope my in-laws don’t get me what they got me last year, which was… nothing. Not even a card. Every year before that, I got a gift. And for my birthday last year, my FIL came over to babysit, so I could WORK. Thanks, Dad.

Also, every year, we discuss what to have for dinner. Not this year. We’re going over, and they’re making meat sauce over pasta. I had no say in the matter. And FIL wants an Amazon gift card. I’m pretty sure I’ll get nothing.

So, I’m bringing my own dinner. I am going to poach lobster in butter, and have a small filet mignon cooked in bacon fat with some homemade hollandaise, and the rest of them can eat pasta.

And then, dessert. Which is almost always ice cream. Now, if you open in-law’s freezer, you’ll see various pints of Haagen-Dazs. But we get whatever was on sale in the carton that week, so usually Friendly’s or some other mass produced crap with ingredients you can’t pronounce.

All I really want for Father’s Day are 3 things:

  1. My wife usually gets me a T-shirt every year with my kids on it, and the year on it.
  2. Go out by myself for dinner (I’ve already gotten the “we can all go out Saturday night as a family”.. sigh). Not that I don’t love my family, I do, but I want to hit a killer sushi buffet and stuff myself with sashimi and read my Kindle and walk out bloated and not worry about the kids getting tired or my wife saying “Make that your last plate.”
  3. Time to go metal detecting. And don’t laugh (OK, fine, laugh, this is NJ) but I bought a gold pan.. what the heck, it was only $5 including shipping.

Now, my wife did make a list of chores, if I get it all done by Monday, I get $100 cash and 6 hours to myself.. I AM working on that!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.