Real EVP Unknowingly Captured on Movie Set! in General Mental Anesthesia

  • June 15, 2017, 10:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I think this is pretty cool & I’ll include some bts shots to give you guys an exclusive inside look.

While editing audio in a scene from our new short horror film “The Shop”. I discovered a class A EVP!

(Electronic Voice Phenomena) - are sounds found on electronic recordings that are interpreted as spirit voices that have been either unintentionally recorded or intentionally requested and recorded.

We turned part of this dance studio into a bakery for the movie.

We bought all the food except for the fruit pizza you see, I made that! ;)

Shooting on a Black Magic camera with a jib (crane).

Setting up the lights and boom mic.

One of our very talented actors “Marissa” in a scene on set.

Our other amazing actor “Debbie” ready for a dramatic take.

Blood, gore, sure! But we have fun on set!

I wasn’t given the nickname “The Guru of Blood” for nothing!

Some of my other sfx work in the film.

I’m taking a break from taking notes…

and here’s part of the scene we were editing when I heard the EVP.

As a long time paranormal investigator for more than half my life having captured many EVP’s over the years, this one was totally unexpected. What’s cool is that the movie is not paranormal in nature. The building we were shooting in was not known to be haunted (although spirits are everywhere). And anything ‘paranormal’ was the furthest thing from anyone’s mind.

During a scene between the two title characters, a third voice is heard and actually went unnoticed until we were heavy into post production. Only two actors on set, one speaking. This is not rehearsal footage it is: “quiet on the set, we’re rolling” actual footage. (I should know, I was there). No, no one heard anything or felt anything while we were shooting, it was a long 22 hour day and we were extremely busy at the time.

I don’t want to say much more about it, I’d rather leave it open for you fine folks to interpret, but don’t be shy to comment!

Gemini Films Productions
Rolling Dice Pictures
Two Man Band Studios

“The Shop” Coming Soon!


Last updated April 19, 2023


HalloweenValentine June 15, 2017

I definitely hear it. Do you think it says anything? I just hear it as a "sigh" sort of sound. First of all, I hope I am hearing the right thing haha.

Deleted user June 15, 2017

I am of two minds about EVPs. One: they are the voice form of paradolia (which I've spelled wrong) essentially our brains look for patterns and the brain just hears what it thinks it's going to. Assuming ghost hunters was not a fraud, they did one per in Buffalo where the spirit quiet clearly yells in the saddest voice possible "go home".

The other part of me says if they are real, maybe listening to them is too close to letting them come in.

Oh yeah and the other possibility in my mind is that they are from another dimension that's bumped into ours long enough to grab something.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Deleted user ⋅ June 16, 2017

So, you're of 3 minds? Sounds crowded. :p

As a paranormal investigator, I am very familiar with "pareidolia". I go into every investigation with a skeptical mindset. I'm not the sort of person that hears something and immediately says it's paranormal, just the opposite in fact.

The only way to determine if something is authentically paranormal is to first determine what it's not. I'm not a fan of any of the ghost hunting shows, I find fault with them all. There are some things I like however, particularly with Ghost Adventurers in that I appreciate their advancement of the field by utilizing new tech, that's extremely important! But not so much that you abandon traditional methods which they continue to use. So I like that aspect.

As far as ghost hunters, I think that show can be reinvented. I understand that a lot of the work is boring, I've done it... often, but it's relevant and I don't think they show enough of that. EMF readings for ex. They can fluctuate (naturally) between day and night and just because you get high EMF at night in an area determines nothing unless they can pinpoint the source and what better way to do that than to first establish EMF hotspots during the day, then go back to those spots at night? They should match. And if you get high EMF in an area that you didn't previously... then something else is causing it. A lot of their questions I feel are idiotic or placating which I don't like, but I do like that they are respectful, another thing that's very important.

The only show I truly give credit to is The Dead Files. Amy Allan is the real deal, we're friends on fb actually. It's the only show where they truly and legitimately try (and do) help people (if the people are willing to accept it). She is very much against Paranormal investigating, and honestly, I agree with her, but I would love to be the lead investigator during her walks with my own camera operator. I wouldn't talk or ask questions, I would simply deploy and use gear based on where she see's, feels and experiences phenomena.... THAT would be amazing... to know exactly where to point your camera, detectors and other equipment.

There's a couple paranormal shows, one set in Britain I think that I absolutely fcking hate! It's a complete mockery of the field, they're all a joke and they bring in these ssholes, like bands to walk with them (for ratings) and it's a treated with so much disrespect and couldn't be more unprofessional; they should be ashamed of themselves; it makes me sick!

Marg Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ June 16, 2017

Is that the one with Yvette Fielding - Most Haunted? It's ridiculed in the UK as well!

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Marg ⋅ June 18, 2017

Yes! G-D that shows sucks!!! A total embarrassment. I don't know how it lasted so long. If they asked me to work with them to do a show a like that, as desperate as I am for money right now, not having been able to work in almost a year, I would refuse.

Marg Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ June 18, 2017

I also don't get how it's lasted so long especially after Derek Acorah was on it. I'm amazed they still get viewers!

Shattered June 16, 2017

I definitely hear what sounds like a scream or possibly a sigh. Pretty cool!

Deleted user June 16, 2017

It sounds like she is saying "Help" as if she doesn't know it's a movie ...

Marg June 16, 2017

I hear a very loud sigh or a long drawn out Ahhhhh or Ohhhhh. It is impressive simply because that's not what you were looking for so totally unexpected therefore nobody's brain would have focussed on that.

I once heard what I'm convinced was an EVP during a recording of Have I Got News For You - a British programme - Nikki heard it too. It sounded like it was in French but none of the guys on the programme mentioned it. I couldn't believe it had gone unnoticed but now wonder if it was my machine that had picked it up. Can that happen?

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Marg ⋅ June 18, 2017

Of course, it happened here!

This evp was unnoticed until I heard it while editing, and it's the best take as well so we're leaving it in. We tested it though and with everything going on in the scene, you don't really hear it, but it'll be there.

Marg Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ June 18, 2017

How cool!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.