I Seriously Hope I am not Stubborn and Just Don't Know it! in A New Beginning

  • June 9, 2017, 2:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Stubbornness is a serious flaw that seems to run in my family of birth. Maybe stubbornness isn’t precise enough a term for it though. PRIDE AND STUBBORNNESS. Yep, those two seem to go together. But really it’s just my two sisters who exhibit these to the Nth degree. My parents and brother (and me) had their own flaws, but not especially pride-and-stubbornness.
One thing about both of them is that they are not able to either apologize or accept an apology. Oh, I can do both of those!! I hate wronging people, and since my mouth is quicker than my brain sometimes, I OFTEN feel the need to apologize!! And I am sincere about it when I do. And heck, I’m just very forgiving. Always have been. I don’t know why. I just don’t enjoy being pissed at people. And since I do dumb stuff myself, and sometimes have mean thoughts or say downright scandalous words, I can UNDERSTAND others messing up.
But my sisters! Man o man! Especially Carol!! Boy o boy!! And she’s too damn P-R-O-U-D to EVER ask anyone for help or say that she just can’t do something. So this has got her in a fix right now, and there’s nothing I can do about it, so I’m just not gonna give another thought to it, once I post this.
She is very sick. She’s been sick all week, sorta, but today she feels worse than on any earlier day. (My sister, btw, is 73 years old. She has COPD and kidney disease. She wears a urostomy bag and has a catheter draining one kidney that she has to go to the hospital to have changed every six weeks.) She is not always sickly at all! In fact, until this week she’d been doing great for quite awhile....going to the gym five days a week, enjoying doing her housework and stuff, and going to church every week. But since last weekend she’s had chills and felt very drained.
She had an appointment with her primary care dr. two days ago and he didn’t give her a prescription for an anti-biotic or ANYTHING; he just sent her to have bloodwork done.
As I might have written about in an earlier post, Joe and I are leaving tomorrow morning to go visit our daughter Carrie in Michigan. We’ll be gone for six days. Sis lives with her daughter, and as luck would have it, her daughter and daughter’s boyfriend are leaving tonight for a long weekend somewhere. In fact, the daughter won’t be home tonight. They won’t be home until Tuesday.
What’s STUPID AS HELL is, our other sister is RIGHT HERE, but the two of them won’t get along, so that is entirely inconsequential in all this. It’s Carol’s (that the sick sister) fault that they are on the outs. OF COURSE she would not call Sandy and apologize profusely for being a bitch and ask her to help out in any way! And I’m not going to ask Sandy to do a damn thing! It ain’t my damn problem. If Carol wasn’t such a bitch about everything Sandy says, does, thinks, and IS, Sandy would just automatically be stopping by, inviting her to go places, offering to take her to appointments, etc.
It is just about enough to make me want to bang my head (or someone else’s!!) repeatedly against a wall, I can tell ya!
Some people never want to admit that they do, in fact, NEED other people from time to time. They don’t ever ask for help, that’s one thing. They also don’t hesitate to just dump other people for the slightest things because after all....they don’t need them for anything, right?! To hear them tell it, those other people never did a damn thing for them anyway!
Well, I’m not helpless by any means, but I LIKE having other people, because frankly, I don’t WANT to do every damn thing myself. I DO want help with some things sometimes, and I am willing to put up with others being the way they are in order to have their help. Mind you, I wouldn’t put up with a serial killer or a derelict or something, but I mean ordinary things.
But that is all I’m going to say or even think about that. This was my last day of work; now I am on SUMMER VACATION! Whooooo-hooooooooo!!!!!!!!! We are gonna drop Guinness off at the boarding kennel this evening, go out to supper, and when we get home I will pack our suitcase AND MAYBE GET MY ASS TO BED! his was end-of-year cleaning day at work and I am POOPED! But I am looking forward to tomorrow’s drive, and to seeing Carrie and family at the end of it! :o) !!


Ragdolls June 09, 2017

Have a great time at Carrie's.

Deleted user June 10, 2017

I'm curious why Joey didn't take the dog. It was his dog originally, after all.

Here I am again! Deleted user ⋅ June 13, 2017

We love Guinness and since he stayed with us when Joey got his first place a year and a half ago (and couldn't take Guinness there), we had certainly come to think of Guinness as OUR dog. We said nothing, but Joey ultimately realized it. "Hey, really, Mom and Dad and their house is what Guinness thinks of as family and home now."

thesunnyabyss June 10, 2017

have fun!!!

I hope Carol feels better soon,

hugs!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.