What's Going On in Packrat

  • June 6, 2017, 3:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have a touch of the blues. I get so tired even though I work only half the day; when I put in a couple of six hour days they didn’t tire me so much. Yesterday I slept as soon as I got in from work until this morning, when I just couldn’t make myself get up, and once I did I was slow because I’m so tired. I’m also wearing compression socks and feeling that it makes no sense to dress decently for work because they ruin any look, and yesterday the nurses gave me a boot that’s too big. My surgeon released me to work and drive with no limitations, but the nurses are constantly telling me what not to do.

I’m also peeved at one of my cousins. I love her but she’s a grafter; she lies and can’t manage her money. I know when she filed for bankruptcy she immediately went on a shopping spree with her credit cards; more recently she upgraded her still nearly new truck for a bigger, newer one when she’s on a limited income and now getting divorced. She tends to drop out of sight; that’s nothing new. The family knows she’s not reliable. She helped my mother with Baby about four times, but when my mom needed her as a witness in court she disappeared and couldn’t be reached.

I didn’t bother telling her I was in the hospital, but she knew because last Wednesday she asked if I was able to get out and about; she needed to talk to me. She lost a son a few years ago and I thought it was about that, so I met with her, only to have her ask me for $2,500! I told her I hadn’t worked in six months and whatever stash I had went to bills, etc., and whatever I had left has to repair my car. (I didn’t mention that my annual and sick leave gave me a nice cushion and that through insurance I received short term disability, plus my stash). She ended up asking me for $500 the next day. If she were really in need I’d want to help, but I know she lies, spends without thinking of the consequences, and even though she said she’d pay me back, she said the same to my mom and still owes her $80.

She’s been talking to a guy she claims to have known for 20 years, but her details aren’t adding up. I think he’s an internet relationship; some get serious too fast, as he seems to be, and based on what?

He wants to take her to Hawaii; she claims not to be impressed by his money and is unsure about Hawaii, but she asked him for money when I didn’t give it and keeps talking about Hawaii. I think she sees him as a meal ticket and a chance to go somewhere. At first I thought it would be an adventure but now I’m doubting that she really has known him that long. I admit that I’ve gone to visit people I knew from the net, but I left every bit of information I had about them with Cousin M, met in public places or in an area where I had friends and family to run to if need be. I had my own transportation.

She also claims that Younger Coyote Brother griped that she could make time to help my mom with Baby but not help his (her mother’s sister), which she said made her withdraw from everybody and everything, but she’s done that long before Baby was born; he and his brothers have commented for years about her being unreachable or saying she’ll be at family gatherings then not showing up; the Coyote was still living then and he died in 2010. I told her that, reminding her that she left my mom hanging. I also don’t believe YCB said that; he’s helped my mom many times over Baby and other issues, and helping my mom took only one day out of the week.

It’s sad that I really don’t trust anything she says, and I think she had a lot of gall to ask me when she knows I’ve been off work for months and when in all that time she never called us; I also can’t believe she asked this man for money. She may have met him 20 years ago, if that’s true, but they haven’t been in contact all that time, and what is she going to do next month? She also has an adult son living with her who doesn’t work and one who has a good stable job with the state - did she ask him for help?

AND - I said if I were to see U2 it would take a miracle; well, they now have dates in September in Kansas City and St. Louis!!!!!! I was hoping they’d go to St. Louis, which is only an hour flight away, and I’m familiar with the city and I have friends there. Surely, surely I’ll be well by then!!!!!! Now I can cry again but this time they’ll be tears of joy!!!!! That’ll be my birthday trip because their concert is just a few days before! Woo Hoo!!!


Last updated June 06, 2017


NorthernSeeker June 06, 2017

Having dishonest people in my life brings on the gloomy feelings for me. The cure is for me to spend time with people who inspire me.

Eriu NorthernSeeker ⋅ June 07, 2017

Yeah, I feel badly that I don't believe anything she says, but I know she lies so I don't feel obligated to help her. I'm worried about her because I feel she's just not thinking things through and only sees how something can benefit her when maybe that benefit is only temporary.

ConnieK June 06, 2017

Here is something I've learned from running the no-profit: some people are content living on the bottom of the ocean. If she were just below the surface, you could lift her up and she'd swim, but no matter how many times cousin gets lifted up, she will never swim. Her plan is to ride others. AND she'll blame everyone else. It'll never be on her. That's her reality but I'm glad you didn't let her make it yours. I concentrate on the ones who just need a little lift and forget about the bottom swimmers. I change what I can by focusing my efforts, ya know? Human nature is a funny thing.

Have fun planning your U2 trip! Glad you have something happy to look forward to. Feel better soon, my friend. Much love to you.

Eriu ConnieK ⋅ June 07, 2017

Yeah, I don't mind helping someone out who just needs a little boost and doesn't make a habit of depending on others to pay the bills they've incurred. None of them have ever asked me for such a large amount, either.

Yes! U2!!! I did actually cry tears of joy today when I heard them on the radio!!!!

MageB June 07, 2017

You can get compression stockings in a vast number of colors. I buy black From CVS, and wear pants. :)

Eriu MageB ⋅ June 07, 2017

Black would match most of what I wear. I also have long skirts. I think it might have been the feeling of being limited rather than the socks themselves.

Deleted user June 08, 2017

Hoping you go to your U2 concert .

Serin June 11, 2017

Some family you have to handle with care or caution, and it can be difficult.

Congrats on the U2 opportunity. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.