Lost in the Darkness in POETRY

  • June 4, 2017, 6:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

 photo bwishtree2.jpg
Today is a measure of yesterday’s emptiness
- A cavernous tomb of melancholic ruin

Isolated and surrounded by death

My heart swims amidst a river of violins
- Their solemn tome sets me adrift

As if I needed the encouragement

The end is the beginning all over again which is why so many things are hazily familiar. I reluctantly remember what I’ve tried to forget; haunting images of people and places as translucent vignettes.

I am the cracked mirror and its reflection
- A symmetry of fragmented shards

Scars stitched in glass in-between resurrections

In blood… I have found love
- But all I’ve now is a collection of scabs

An ungenial presence is all I have

There is no truth to be found in a transfixed smile, like staring into a porcelain doll all the while losing grip on reality. A sun rises and sets over a distant land populated with no one to appreciate its beauty, yet somehow I am there not knowing how to feel.

Seeing only the backs of people’s decaying heads
- With their rawboned fingers curled into fists

Where does one go when they’re dispossessed

and lost…
… in the darkness?

By: Jaye Eryk
Copyright ©2010


Marg June 07, 2017

Where indeed? Have you had any of your poetry published?

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Marg ⋅ June 07, 2017

The short answer is yes, but in books with other poets where I had no control over formatting, or length, kind of like here on pb. I can't format my poetry properly and that's important.

At one point I looked into self publishing, but then I met someone who did that and got his book published; He was a friend of a friend. He showed me his book and I read the first couple pages. It was the worst piece of garbage I've ever seen. Grammatical errors, spelling errors, his storytelling was disjointed and confusing. Right then, I knew I was never going to self publish because if this could be a book and sold in legitimate bookstores, then anything could be published. There's no accomplishment in that. If I am to put a book out, I want to have earned it.

I've been asked many times if I have a book or if I plan to publish so they can get a copy, but it would have to be through a publisher that believes in me and will help market the book. I do have a title and the poetry... but the reality however is that there's no money in poetry (and that's not about me making money so much as it is the publisher).

Perhaps when I die someone will take a collection of my work and get it published. Edgar Allan Poe, Charles Baudelaire... many poets never got the respect they deserved until after they died.
Ironic and ever so poetic, no?

Marg Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ June 09, 2017

So true! What about poetry competitions? There seem to be a huge number of them going about and it might be a way of getting recognition.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Marg ⋅ June 09, 2017

A lot of them you either have to pay to enter or they have line limitations etc... I have my poetry posted on a poetry website, but other than that, I haven't found any legit contests without paying or having certain parameters. I'm sort of the anti-poet in that I have my own style, most contests don't approve if it doesn't fit into a specific category; they're very picky.

Marg Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ June 10, 2017

Yes you're quite right - I've been put off in the past by line limitations now that I remember and I think it very much depends on the style of who's judging a lot of the time!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.