Well Fcuk it. in A New Beginning

  • June 4, 2017, 8:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today I have been frikkin’ sore. For anyone reading this who’s new to me, I have chronic pain from spinal stenosis and have spent the last couple years trying to get some LASTING relief from it. I finally started getting epidural spinal injections, which WERE great relief and lasted me about six weeks. But this last one I got on April 28th hasn’t really ever given me very much relief, and I have been doing very well at not becoming depressed over that, but fcuk that. Today I am depressed. I usually don’t stay depressed for long, so maybe tomorrow I won’t be. If I’m less sore tomorrow, I definitely won’t be! Geez, I know I’m not the first person to ever say this, but IS IT TOO DAMN MUCH TO ASK, TO BE ABLE TO LIVE MY LIFE WITHOUT DAILY FRIKKIN’ PAIN?!

Lots and lots of people are much worse than me. I’m really trying to be proactive so I don’t get “worse off than me”!

But on to other things....hey, one week from today Joe and I will be on our vacation! We might even be at Carrie’s (in Michigan) by now! That means, I will actually be off from my work until late August. :o) Boy, are every one of us at work READY! I am looking forward to summer break sooooo much. My goals, once we get back from our trip, are to spend a couple days each week to myself. I think I might go to the school grounds those mornings and walk around the track. Of course I LOVE walking in the woods too, but walking round the track just might be a good difference. Plus it’s closer. I also want to try my damnest to get back to reading books. Gee, I have been a READER my whole life, but over the past 3-4 years I just can’t seem to stay focused and finish books. This makes it sound like I think of reading books as some kind of virtue. Well, I guess I do! I admire a number of people who read books regularly. My Mom and Grandmom always had books they were reading. My sisters both read. Carol, especially, is a voracious reader. One of my friends here, Sandra, is a voracious reader. And I used to get many hours of enjoyment from reading! I want to do that again. I don’t know what has been my problem, but whatever it is, I hope to break through it this summer and get back to reading books again.

(next day) Today Joe had a coven thing to go to, so my sister Sandy and I went on an outing. We went hiking at Abbot’s Mill Nature Center. It was a refreshing, sunny-but-coolish morning for it. I love to go places with Sandy because we both love nature and just marvel so much about practically everything we see. Everything to both of us is just A Wonder, even little things like toads and dragonflies and wildflowers. After that, we had lunch at the Dairy Queen because Sis was wanting a hot dog. Dairy Queen’s burgers are pretty puny though, but I wanted Sis to have her hot dog, and not many other places have them. (THEY SHOULD. Hot dogs are GOOD!) I got a double cheeseburger but it was, like, three bites-worth and I’m already hungry. Aaaaaanyhow, on our way there we stopped at a favorite produce place of hers. She knows I am always looking for sour pie cherries and never finding them, and the last time she was there THEY HAD ‘EM!! Sure enough, they still had them, $3 a pint which, well whatever! is not too bad for such a rare commodity I reckon. I bought two pints, enough to make a pie. Joe LOVES cherry pie. We used to have a Montmorency cherry tree, but Joey cut it down by accident (thinking it was the tree Joe had asked him to cut down) and we haven’t had a damn bit of luck getting one to grow since.

Soooo, as luck would have it, I took Sis home and I came home, and the very SECOND I pulled into my yard, here comes my across-the-road farming neighbor on her golf cart with her big dog, to ask me if I’d like some pie cherries! Guinness was in the house waiting on me to come in, and he was barking his head off because of this goings-on.

Well of course I am not one to look gift horses in the mouth, so I said yes (really wanted to say no though, because pitting cherries is work) and she said she’d bring them right over.

SO NOW I HAVE A SHITLOAD OF SOUR CHERRIES.

I pitted enough for ONE pie and baked it. I have a couple of quarts sitting on the table. Maybe I will tackle those later. sigh

I told Sandy about that, and also told her I’d bring her a piece of pie, so I’m gonna do that now, and then bring my ass home AND REST! Tomorrow’s Monday....the last Monday of work ‘til late August!


Ragdolls June 05, 2017

We had cherry trees in the yard when I was a kid. Loved picking them & then my mom would make a huge pan of cobbler. My grandmother lived next door and sometimes she'd bring over some ice cream to go with the warm cobbler. YUM!

thesunnyabyss June 05, 2017

mmm pie cherries, you lucky girl!!!

you must be so excited to go see Carrie and family!!!

I get what you mean about being sick or in pain and how it can bring you down if you let it,

have a great last week, hugs!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.