Wraith'd in POETRY

Revised: 06/07/2017 11:14 a.m.

  • June 1, 2017, 10:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The perception is a deception in the transference from life to the abyss. The fool I was who fell and bled, hiding from a hug that I was hoping to get.

Thus my carrion reflection enshadows me like a frost laden blanket preventing the pervasion of this new visage upon the world.

Blighted and benighted, my fate is inescapably realized. Lost to the wickedness I thought was light; the warmth of embrace becomes a bedeviled perennial night.

Missing ipseity, I can’t figure out which impalement rod I was left on.

Following my Hellbound heart through the mist and across the Styx; eyes sutured so as not to see the lies in every smile putrescently and effortlessly cast in my direction.

Every kind word is a razor tearing apart my soul; a punishment for believing in the women I have known.

Confused and astray, I’m led by growls through viscid burning muck. I feel the claws ethereally as I am a dearth full of pang; the same life I have lived, now border-less and metaphoric.

Unencumbered with flesh
Gather up - my loneliness
And feed my soul - cold shards of glass

Wretched in countenance, here I stand
Forever
… Dismembered
… … Right through my frail hands.

By: Jaye Eryk
Copyright ©2017


Last updated June 07, 2017


Marg June 09, 2017

Did you change the formatting of this? It seems to read much better especially at the end.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Marg ⋅ June 09, 2017

As mentioned previously, I have my poetry posted elsewhere that allows formatting. Formatting is very important, it tells the reader when to breathe, speed up, slow down etc... PB does not allow formatting, so my poetry doesn't read as it should.

I attempted to format by way of ellipses, it should be just open space so it's still not right and I can't do that for every piece I post on here, but yes, it should read better, and I'm glad you mentioned it. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.