The "Road Trip" in Boise,ID Part 2 in Misc. Thoughts opinions, the whole trash can.

  • May 31, 2017, 2:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Friday Afternoon May 19th:
The afternoon was spent in a lazy fashion. It also, was spent getting “stuff” for brunch on Sunday. Winco was one of the stops. Jill’s partner offered to prepare brunch for at least 35 to 50 people. That’s good but I think she bit off more than she bargained for. We picked up Orange Juice and Champagne for Mimosas. Lynn picked up eggs, hash-browns, cream of Chicken soup, shredded Cheddar cheese, Bacon and brown Sugar. Then to Trader Joes to pick up the Strawberry and Chocolate filled Croissants. We headed for Vikki’s to stash the stuff. Trips to the airport, getting people coming in. The Boise airport is quite close and not crowded. Trips to and from were quite quick, shuttling toward Hotel 43 downtown. Saturday evening, we all were invited for the rehearsal dinner. It was very nicely done and it was special to be the “out of town” crowd and able to attend.

Saturday May 20th, Wedding Day:
We made the 730 am airport run to pick up Mary, another GUC, from Spokane,WA. The consensus was to get breakfast. So on they was was Elmer’s. The sign said scratch made northwest style breakfasts. Seemed like regular breakfasts to me, but it was very good. The was a farmers market in the parking lot across from the hotel. We are to get fruit as well. Well, they had vegetables, handmade pastas, fresh butchered meats and Jerky. Food trucks and other crafts to be had. NO FRUIT..lol. Well back to Winco for fruit, back to Vikki’s to stash that too.

I am heading for the old Union Pacific Boise Depot, which is now a museum owned by the city. The also have a “MIKE” (Mikado class) steam engine on display. So I’ll grab some shots of it and the depot. I was told be back in AT LEAST an hour. I will make an entry on that next. I was back, I guess plans for lunch out is in order.

Vikki’s husband said we’ll go down to 10 Barrel for lunch. The GUC’s are clucking and I am supposed to take them all to the Hotel, or at least 6 of us. I’ll walk after I valet the car at the Hotel. The GUC’s have decided they are doing “other” GUC stuff. I’ll walk to the 10 Barrel, and meet him and his other son there. I beat them there, plus SURPRISE, his side of the family from Texas are there as well. It was great to have them there and being a former Texan, I was in good company. I told Terry, I am shocked I beat you here, with the GUC conference in the Driveway, I thought they were gonna run out of air. He laughed and said that’s why I got out of there.

Wedding Time and we are instructed to be at the venue by at least 430 pm. The wedding will occur around 500 to 515 pm, with dinner being served shortly afterward. This is at the Idaho Botanical Gardens off of Old Penitentiary Rd. YEP it is on the site of the old Idaho State Penitentiary. Was a great venue and a nice place to have the wedding.
 photo IMG_1530_zpsdccpswrq.jpg
A shot of one of the Guard Towers, one on every corner. The Old Idaho Penitentiary State Historic Site was a functional prison from 1872 to 1973

 photo IMG_1531_zpsojuruflp.jpg
The south wall of the prison

 photo IMG_1529_zpsnom7rvds.jpg
A shot of some of the Gardens. The Wedding Ceremony area is directly ahead

They were wed and pronounced Man and Wife. The buffet that was catered was elaborate. The bride is from Vietnam, but has lived here for sometime. So there was a mixture of traditional Vietnamese and American fare. Was a good time, but I am ready for bed.


Last updated May 31, 2017


MageB May 31, 2017

Goodness. I'm looking forward to seeing the engine and the depot too. It's a good idea to make that area around the prison a garden. Good weather, I see. Is that your GMC by the prison?

Brakeshoe Bob MageB ⋅ May 31, 2017

No, we took he wife's Infiniti. It is a cross-over and all wheel drive. It does like its premium fuel. :P We got 21 to 23 MPG all good.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.