No Road to Home in 1st Book...

Revised: 05/30/2017 6:41 p.m.

  • May 30, 2017, 2 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This road leads to nowhere.
No road to Home is within sight, or maybe it never was.
Memories of my past just fade into years of Forgotten Time. The shade is cold, and this path is a lonely walk.

I block out the Sun, only to burn myself with my own demons.
Cursing myself for past mistakes, Mistakes that are surely forgotten.
But, not by me.
Chains tighten.
I grow tired and heavy.
Ghosts haunt.
And, guilt slowly kills.
I know I am not the only one. Many have walked down this path.

The path to Redemption?
To Damnation?
To another place.
An escape from myself.
The soft sunset sings to me of forgiveness and calming lullabies.
For one moment, I feel nothing.
Numb.
Then the night. She comes to me like an angry Banshee.
Screaming at me.
She will never let me forget who I truly am.
She is Unforgiving.

I wear another mask for the new day.
Walking through a crowd of human guns, shooting bullets of meaningless phrases.
Throwing stares of piercing daggers.
Wearing their silly masks and costumes of who they once were or want to be.
Living another life.
Another lie.
It looks familiar to me. Plastic people and broken mirrors.

This road seems endless. But, I embrace this Desolation.


Last updated May 30, 2017


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.