26 weeks in The Pregnancy Story of Baby G2

  • May 25, 2017, 1:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Wow, the last entry I wrote was 4 months ago. I had mentioned how this pregnancy was so much more relaxed. The lack of entries proves that! I was correct in my prediction that it was a boy! Dusty and I haven’t agreed on a name yet.

Things have been going pretty smoothly. My blood sugars were really good up until 20 weeks, which is pretty standard. At 20 weeks the placenta gives off more hormones that increase insulin resistance, so things started getting a little wonky then. At the appointment today I was measuring 2 weeks ahead. I’m still wanting to aim for delivery at 38 weeks, but it makes my OB nervous. She wants to go more at 37 like we did with Lorelei. We’ll see how much bigger this kid gets.

I’m not going to do a nursery for him. At least not right now. The room we would use is currently the toy room, and I have no idea where the toys would go if we turned it into a nursery. Then there’s the fact that Lorelei stayed downstairs with us for over a year before she actually went up to her room, so I figured he would too. We have some clothes for him, but not tons. I guess what I mostly need to do is find the old gear (car seat, pack and play, bassinet) and make sure it’s clean. Oh, and diapers.

Speaking of diapers, I got a new backpack diaper bag. It has so many pockets! And a pocket for wipes and an insulated pocket for bottles. Haha, it’s really been one of my only purchases for this pregnancy and I’m excited about it. Lorelei is also potty trained so I’ll have to get back into the habit of carrying a diaper bag around.

I’m still hitting the gym 3 times a week. It’s going well. I’m modifying about 30% of the exercises at this point. I’ve done a 1000 meter ski a couple times! When I first started there I was working pretty hard to do 200 maybe? Brett’s wife is 20 weeks and has next to no belly. She’s super skinny though. Then I saw another gym gal coming out of the OB office as I was waiting to go in today. Surprise! They haven’t even told their families yet and now I know. I said Brett is going to be sick of training pregnant women soon. It might be a marketing niche for his gym, haha.

I’ll probably update in another month when I start doing fun things like my NSTs and growth ultrasounds. I also leave for New Orleans in a month for the AWHONN conference.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.