Mower Therapy in Just in Case

  • May 24, 2017, 8:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had some mowing time today. I didn’t get it done, but it always just makes me feel better. I had an “incident” with the charger for my mower battery a few weeks ago. I’m honestly not sure what happened. I don’t know if I put the clamps on the wrong post (positive to grounded and grounded to positive) or if the charger had just gotten wet, but I plugged it in, to start charging and it began making noises and smoking. I yanked the plug out, and took the clamps off instantly. Whatever happened must have given the battery a jolt, because it started. I did the first mow of the year. Then I tried 2 weeks ago to mow, and the mower wouldn’t start. I hesitated, but tried the charger, and it was dead as a doornail. So, I’m assuming the charger is dead. I bought a new one, but didn’t look closely at it. It’s designed as a portable charger. The cables for the clamps are very short and it doesn’t have an electric plug. But, I have a nice sturdy extension cord that will work fine. I did the instant start this evening, and it started fine. I guess if it keeps not starting, I’ll replace the battery. I may have damaged it a well.
I got a new wagon to pull behind the mower, and I used it to try and pick up some of the limbs that blew down in the last few rounds of storms. It’s not a huge wagon, but I got several good loads in. I was very careful about ant beds, but still managed to get eaten up by fire ants. They are awful this year. I’m taking allergy medicine every night to get control over this respiratory stuff, but my ankle is already puffy with red streaks. I hate ant bites.
I also got my car inspected this week. I’m very late getting it done. It was due in April. I really didn’t wait on purpose. I’ve had so many days that I didn’t leave school before 5 and when I would think of it, nothing was open to get it inspected. I am SO not cut out for a life of crime, though. lol I was driving through a neighboring town and a state trooper was right beside me. I tried to move up just enough so he couldn’t see my inspection sticker, when he suddenly dropped back behind me. I knew that was it. I was talking to a friend on the phone (hands free), and I began to say, “Oh he’s checking my plate! He’s about to stop me!!” Then he moved over to the lane behind me and I knew that was it. I began scanning the road in front of me to figure out the best place to pull over —and he pulled into the Dairy Queen. My friend was dying laughing at me, and said that he just wanted a Blizzard. I went the next day and got it inspected. lol I’m not even going to pretend that I’m not a wimp. lol (I have been pulled over in the past for speeding - more than once, but I only had to pay twice).


terriberri May 24, 2017

I can't imagine ants like yhat!! Maybe you are allergic??

Deleted user May 25, 2017

Lord, I hate fire ants ! We don't have them here but I have been bitten a couple times in Florida. They truly hurt when they bite and I swelled up like a ballon on my feet and ankles .
Take care !!

Small Town Girl May 26, 2017

Ew ants!

Jigger May 27, 2017

The ants this year are going to be horrific. We never got a good freeze, and now they and the fleas and the mosquitos are going to party hard. Haaaate.

dream seeker Jigger ⋅ June 03, 2017

Yessssss I'm having fleas,which I never had an issue with before. What do you use for your fur babies for flea prevention?

Jigger dream seeker ⋅ June 03, 2017

Vectra. It's another liquid-to-the-shoulderblades treatment, but so far, I really like it. No collars--never collars!

dream seeker Jigger ⋅ June 03, 2017

I did Advantage this time. Much less scratching for now. I'm also mopping, vacuuming, and Cloroxing the carp out of everything to get rid of them.

Jigger dream seeker ⋅ June 03, 2017

Wow, a carp infestation is a whole other deal. ;)

dream seeker Jigger ⋅ June 03, 2017

Hahahaha stupid tiny phone keyboard.
On a side note I watched a young gator go after some carp the other day.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.