All Right in General

  • May 24, 2017, 4:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Somewhere I have a clip of me doing this song, about 30 seconds long and just me and the Ibanez acoustic. No percussion, no bass.

During cruise in ‘99, this was my “go to bed” song. I had a cheap electric guitar and a plug-in effects box and headphones. Space being of paramount priority on a Naval vessel.

I suppose I was sad, and working 20 hours a day has a way of wearing on you. I had filed for divorce from X1 in June, just before we deployed.

Pulls from the tether to rise
And shatters
Caught in the wind far and wide
It scatters…

As I have often said, the ‘99 USS Constellation cruise as the Flag Electronic Warfare Officer was an incredible learning experience. I was 36-37 years old during that cruise. Responsible for so fucking much. I can’t even describe it.

When I was on watch, I was hyper vigilant. There were times I was convinced I was the only one paying attention. There we were, off the coast of Iran, with those fuckers launching jets toward us just for fun. I had a laser pointer and I would point at displays and ask the person responsible what was going on and what we were doing about it. I can’t count the number of times I had to tear out, run down the hall to TFCC and ask the admiral’s representative what they were doing about a situation.

The problem with thinking at 420 knots in a 10 knot Navy.

After watch, and another meeting. And a workout. I plugged the el cheapo electric into the effects box and work through the simple appegiated intro to the song. For a few minutes not on Connie. Not in the Arabian Gulf. Not getting divorced.
But when the part that goes:

Never patterns
But for the loss of things
Gaining
Catching up with me
And these ladders
Rising and endlessly
Leading nowhere I can see

I ran the distortion and sustain and chorus all the way up and pounded on the strings. Wanting so bad to cry. It wasn’t good, but it was a bit of release.

If I hear the call
Of the lorelei
No I will not fall
It’s all right this time

That siren song. I have gotten better at ignoring it in the last few years. But I still haven’t managed to completely mute it.


Last updated May 24, 2017


Deleted user May 24, 2017

I have an Ibanez acoustic :-)

Pintador May 24, 2017

We want...no, we NEED to hear that clip!!! I must have missed something along the way because I didn't realize you were musically inclined - except that I knew you love to listen to music.

Duke Pintador ⋅ May 24, 2017

Alas photobucket won't host a .wav file. But I did find the damn thing!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.