Let the Summering Begin in Life

  • May 22, 2017, 6:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, for the first official day of summer break it wasn’t that great. It rained off an on (mostly on) all day. No outside, no fun anything out there. So, I just chilled inside watching shows on DVR and reading. I was supposed to be doing housework, but that didn’t happen. I’m hoping this isn’t an indication of how the summer is going to go. Normally I’m ok with rainy days, but for the first official day of summer break, I wanted a little sunshine. At least they took the rain out of the forecast for tomorrow. It’s still not supposed to be sunny, but at least no more rain for a while. It’s rained off an on for the past 3 or 4 days.
I will get up tomorrow and be productive - or at least semi-productive. :)
I took my parents out to eat yesterday for their 51st anniversary. My sister and both girls were out of town until late Sunday. So, it was just the three of us. We ate at Logan’s. It was pretty good until A ROACH RAN ACROSS OUR TABLE. Those who have been reading for any length of time know I have a HUGE fear of roaches, like a phobia fear. I was trying to be calm and not draw attention. My mom tried to kill it, but it got away. (It was a small one, maybe 1/2 and inch long.) They did discount our meal, but it was gross. Their restaurant was packed. I’m sure they wanted to just make sure it kept quiet. Unfortunately, the start of their 52nd year involved bringing their new to them car in for repairs and they had to run the gas down low. (My parents are the type of people who think the world might end if you are below 3/4 a tank, lol). They ran it down to a little less than a quarter tank (which just about killed my Dad!) dropped it off this morning, and headed out of town. They didn’t go anywhere before the radiator light came on in the truck. So, they went back to the dealer, swapped out vehicles, put gas in, and went to Daddy’s appointment. They got the radiator replaced in the truck, and ran the car down to a little over a quarter tank, and left it for replacing a fuel pump and fixing a leak in the AC. I hate it for them. Hopefully this ends the problems they are having with this “new” car.


Deleted user May 22, 2017

I hope this solves their car woes and that the dealer paid for it . That is one reason I am always anxious about used cars. We just bought one for Blake ; a Toyota Solara and we have replaced the stereo, tires, brakes, tinted the windows and now we have to fix two tiny nicks in his windshield . We also need to get the belts and air conditioning checked just to make sure they are a-ok. It should be a great car when we get done. But it's cost significant money :-(
I would have insisted the mamager give you the meals for free not just discounted. Roaches are a health department violation. They are lucky you did not file a complaint . Yuck! Gives me the heebegeebees !!!!

dream seeker Deleted user ⋅ May 22, 2017

They bought the extended warranty, so on the car that's covering everything except the $100 deductible. None of us are ones to draw attention to ourselves. We had eaten 90% of the meal, so paying around 30% of the cost was ok. This restaurant has buckets of peanuts on the table that you crack, eat, and throw the shells on the floor. It is Louisiana. Roaches are EVERYWHERE. I would imagine it's a battle they fight all the time.
That being said - I just stayed at the table because they were not paying for the meal. Otherwise I would have been outside like a shot. It felt like that stupid thing was crawling on me all day.

Deleted user dream seeker ⋅ May 22, 2017

You are right ! We stayed in New Orleans at a five star hotel ; La Pavillion and I saw a roach in the bathroom there . They were so nice and gave us a new room immediately that was even nicer than the one we had , which I thought was very nice . Our last night there ( we were there ten days) I did not feel well at dinner so they sent room service ( our choice ) , two roses on our tray , and white wine . Free.

Deleted user dream seeker ⋅ May 22, 2017

I don't see how the restaurant could avoid roaches with throwing peanuts and shells on the floor . Mice too :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.