Mother's Day in Just in Case

  • May 14, 2017, 8:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I want to wish all of you mothers a very Happy Mother’s Day. The job a mother does is beyond belief. The strength and courage to raise your children is something I truly admire.
I was lucky enough to spend the day with my mom. As friends and coworkers lose their moms, I realize how lucky I am to spend time with mine. She’s a pretty freaking awesome mom. The scare last October made me be a little more realistic about her age and her fragility. That’s a word I would never have used with my mom before. She’s strong, a tough little banty hen. :)
I got a sweet card and gift card from Tootie. I cooked shrimp scampi bread sticks, and a mandarin orange cake (I HATE that cake, but Mama loves it).
Mother’s Day is always sort of bittersweet for me. I couldn’t not possibly love my mom more than I do. She’s done so much for me and I love that I get to honor her on the day. However, it’s also a reminder that I’m not a mom. I know many women who have made the choice to not have children. I 100% respect that choice. It wasn’t mine, though. I always wanted a house full. I wanted the Waltons. :D It wasn’t meant to be, though. Medical reasons prevented me from having kids and financial reasons kept me from adopting. There’s nothing I can do about that, but it’s a otugh pill to swallow sometimes. I read an article today that really bothered me. I’ve never assumed that I should be wished a Happy Mother’s Day. I’m not a mom. The kids at different times have given me cards and/or gifts as their aunt, and I love that, but I’m not a mom. I accept that. Anyway, this article stated clearly that Mother’s Day is for Mothers not for single fathers, not for aunts, etc. In fact, her statement was, “Don’t tell me you have 3 nieces and 2 dogs, so you know what it’s like to be a mom. You didn’t carry a child in your body. You didn’t stay up all night with them when they were sick. You didn’t spend sleepless night worried about them. You’re not a mother. You’re an aunt and a pet owner.” Even though, as I said, I don’t see myself as a mother, I instantly had 2 thoughts:
1. How dare she presume that only a woman who has carried a child know what it’s like to be a mom.
2. Yes, in fact, I have spent many sleepless nights worrying. Yes, I have stayed up all night tending to sick kids. Yes, I’ve gone on field trips. Yes. I’ve brought cookies or cupcakes to class parties. Yes, I’ve gone without to make sure they have what they need.

But you know what? Ultimately I feel sadness for her. On a day when there should be happiness, she just found bitterness. I have no qualms about what makes a mother. So again, to all you mothers, where your babies have 2 legs or 4, whether they are a child by blood or just of love, I wish you a very Happy Mother’s Day. I thank you for what you do for the people you love, and I know they do as well.


Jigger May 15, 2017

Same in-choice here. I just sort of missed the window.

What an absolutely offensive article. I have lots to say...but I already know you get me.

Happy Mother's Day, to a lady who mothers a lot harder than a lot of mothers.

Deleted user May 15, 2017

In my opinion you are a Mother to hundreds of kids every day . You teach them, support them, make sure they have what they need , worry about them, cry over them ... you care every single day . Sadly that is more than many biological Mothers do ever. It's not conceiving and carrying a baby that makes you a Mother . Almost every female can do that but it's the teaching, caring and nurturing that you do that shows me that you know more about how to be a good Mother than most . Shame on that ignorant woman for her pathetic attitudes !

terriberri May 15, 2017

i find it very sad that people can say things like that without the sensitivity to those it may hurt! you have mothered many in your life from all that i see! students whose lives were blessed simply by having you as their teacher and changing their courses in many instances. your family and those you have been there for....over and over again, and with a steadfast love and committment that they can all count on. i am so sorry that you weren't able to be a mom who carries her babies, but i see you mother in so many ways and i hope you can some level of happiness on that point. there are many, who have been touched by you....many who will consider you a part of their lives and who they've become. that counts for so much christy!!!

TruNorth May 15, 2017

Why can't we celebrate mothers and those who have been like a mother to us? Its all good.

Small Town Girl May 19, 2017

You are a teacher. You are a mother to all of them! You teach them and worry for them in ways their real parents dont! It takes a village to raise kids! Dont let that idiotic view point bring you down!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.