Carefree Highway in General

  • May 11, 2017, 12:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Pickin’ up the pieces of my sweet shattered dream
I wonder how the old folks are tonight
Her name was Ann and I’ll be damned if I recall her face
She left me not knowin’ what to do…

Wednesdays are my strange days, the days I drink coffee too late because I have to be up and aware for class. I love the mix of students in this ground school. The instructor is younger than me, but there are older pilots taking the class to stay in front of recurring educations requirements. Then the high school kids, drolly trying to act more worldly than they are. Always a lively discussion.

Actually the best time I have all week.

I am oddly comfortable with life. A decision made by a 17 year old kid from a mill town in Maine with delusions of grandeur played out pretty well, all things considered.

There were a ton of bad decisions between then and now. But it all worked out. I never tried to get anything more than I was due, and the threshold of what I think I am due is pretty low.

I only have one friend who in a relationship. The rest of us can’t figure it out. I just keep telling the boys it isn’t any of our business. He gets something out of the deal. What that is, I have no idea.

I have to have sweet, smart and pretty. If I can’t have her, I am better off on my own.

I have a ridiculous amount of flexibility in my schedule.

Except Sunday. When my nephew, the Firefighter/Paramedic gets his bachelors degree. I am still mulling over what to wear. Do I do cool uncle in jeans and a polo shirt, or go full godfather and put on the black suit and aviator shades?

I still have the last voicemail Audrey left me. Every time I go through my voice mail I save it again. It sounds so whiney and pathetic to say, but I am convinced I will never love like that again.

Come on universe, surprise me.

Turnin’ back the pages to the times I love best
I wonder if she’ll ever do the same
Now the thing that I call livin’ is just bein’ satisfied
With knowin’ I got no one left to blame

Photobucket


Last updated May 11, 2017


Deleted user May 11, 2017

I think the Universe will hear you !

Deleted user May 11, 2017

I feel that I will never love like that again as well. You have done well for yourself, very much so. I say you should wear the suit and aviator glasses.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.