IUD Nightmare in Home

Revised: 05/10/2017 3:39 p.m.

  • May 10, 2017, 12:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Omg so I’m not paranoid. The fucking mirena isn’t in my uterus according to ultrasound… But I can still feel it. Fuck me. It’s in my abdominal cavity, presumably. Omg.

Currently at hospital. I’ll update when I know more. Staring at my beautiful baby and hoping nothing gets in the way of this time together… Such as a foreign body in my abdomen. I love this kid too much to have some thing awful happen. I know I’m being alarmist but fuck me. This is such ridiculously bad luck.

*confirmed on xray it’s exactly where I thought it was, left side pelvic area. Likely in abdominal cavity or if I’m unlucky(er) perforating bowel. Basically it was inserted on an angle and it’s presumably gone straight through my uterus and out the other side. Still in hospital awaiting further examinations. It’s almost a year to the day since my (very abnormal, rare and serious) sepsis from retained products of conception which landed me in hospital for a week… Now this? Seriously. Wtf universe?!

*it’s now 6am and I’m at the hospital again (went home at midnight last night) awaiting emergency surgery. There’s a fairly high chance they won’t be able to remove it today but they’re going to attempt (if I don’t get bumped from the list).

I have this really irrational fear/visualisation of something awful happening when I’m under. I know it’s unlikely… but this whole situation is unlikely. I don’t want anything to come between this perfect little newborn and I.

**in recovery, alive and sans marina. Woo.


Last updated May 11, 2017


Sapphire's Gaze May 10, 2017

Whaaaaa? How the heck does it get in there when they insert it vaginally?!

Espoir Trouvé Sapphire's Gaze ⋅ May 10, 2017

Perforation of uterus wall :/

Sapphire's Gaze Espoir Trouvé ⋅ May 10, 2017

Bloody hell!

Espoir Trouvé Sapphire's Gaze ⋅ May 10, 2017

Yeah...

crunchie May 10, 2017

Oh god that sounds bloody horrible. I hope there's a quick procedure to get it out and there's no hospital stay. Putting 'never get an iud' on my mental list : (

Alice, Falling May 10, 2017

OH MY GOD. Good on you for being in tuned with your body. Hoping surgery goes well. xoxo

Neb May 10, 2017

Honestly! How negligent is that?!
Thinking of you Mel and sending lots of love from here xx.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.