Wrapping it Up in Day by Day

  • May 8, 2017, 3:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I finished the tribute to my brother. I’m leaving out the story of how my brother got my husband tossed in jail but am including the go-cart story. We’re holding his memorial at the posh hotel in Tampa that my brother designed the interior for. They’ve comped the room as well as comping all hotel rooms for out-of-town relatives (7 rooms that I know of…one of them is for me and my husband, which is pushing it since I’m only 1 hour out of town but more on that in a bit) AND are providing free shuttle to and from the airport. These are the same people who visited my brother in the hospital. Guess I’ll have to re-think my opinion of corporate America. Anyway, Tampa Bay will be filled with a lotta love, tears, and laughter on Friday. SIL said she’s planned the “party of the century” as my brother requested.

So why are we taking one of the room comps? Well, step-mom and brother will be here for two nights, as will several cousins on the Italian side (will be fun to watch the mafioso and the rednecks mix! HA!), and I always want to see them, but mostly our foster daughter (all grown up now & thriving in NYC) is also flying in for two nights and I am not about to miss one second of her time! Some day I will retell the story of foster daughter, how she came into our lives and how she found us again and how it made our family whole again. It’s a good reminder to us all that life has a way of righting wrongs and if you wait long enough, good prevails.

The other thing I’m wrapping up is my very first ebay sale! Since the boys have made it very clear they do not want the stuff that’s been handed down through the generations, I’ve decided to sell it. I decided to start with the Wedgewood collection and sold my parents’ Bridge set: cigarette jar and four individual ashtrays, one in each suit (heart, diamond, spade, club). Some on ebay call them candy dishes, but there’s a groove for a cigarette. I never used them when I used to smoke as the ashtrays only hold one butt and that’s a pain in the…well, butt…to empty constantly. Anyway, it’ll be interesting to see how the others do. And if I get scammed. I’ve also listed it all on etsy, as well, since that was recommended to me.

And now I am going to wrap up my woefully neglected coin collection.

I’m making pizza tonight since the heat and humidity has returned. I get lazy about cooking when summer arrives. What are you planning for dinner?


GypsyWynd May 08, 2017

Cheesesteak sandwiches and beet green salad.
I'm glad your family will be together. Staying in the hotel is a good idea. How nice of them to comp the rooms. Who knew corporate America could have a heart?

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ May 08, 2017

When I read "cheesesteak sanddwiches", I laughed, because that was my OTHER choice! :)

GypsyWynd ConnieK ⋅ May 08, 2017

Great minds.......

QueenSuzu May 08, 2017

Wonderful that the hotel is comping the rooms, shows just how highly they thought of your brother. Ok, no tossing your husband in the clink story at the memorial but you HAVE to tell us, your nearest and dearest, we will keep our mouths shut🤐🤐🤐.
Btw, we are having chicken alfredo with peas courtesy of all ready made from the store as we went shopping and picked it up. We had pizza and cheesesteak sandwiches Saturday night cuz Jeff can't have just one or the other😝😝

ConnieK QueenSuzu ⋅ May 08, 2017

Well...now...with the recent uproar over people outing others, I'm not so sure SuZu...you might tell my relatives and they'd, they'd...why, they'd laugh and since they can't fire me, I guess it's okay. :) Dinner sounds good!

QueenSuzu ConnieK ⋅ May 09, 2017

You're the best!😊😊

Chic Chat May 08, 2017

Can't wait to hear about your Foster daughter, I love stories like that.

That is awfully nice of them to do.

ConnieK Chic Chat ⋅ May 08, 2017

I have more stories than time to write them.

a mote, floating May 08, 2017

Kudos to the hotel for their kindness and appreciation! I'm glad you can stay there and not have to think about travel, even if it's just a one-hour drive.
My dinner was my usual big salad: tomato, cuke, green and red peppers, tuna, and crispbread.

ConnieK a mote, floating ⋅ May 08, 2017

Yes, they're being generous with the conference room, as well. I know it's selfish of me, but the idea of a mini family reunion was more important than stoic stuffiness.
Your dinner sounds healthy and wonderful!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.