Sweet Jebus in General

  • May 8, 2017, 3:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Monday. Tuesday and Wednesday morning tend to be my busiest days. So Basically I have 3 1/2 day weekends. If you told 22yo me that 54yo would have 3 1/2 day weekends he would have said “sweet!”

But 54yo me would have to tell 22yo me what it would take to get to this point. Then he would say “shit!” Or not. 22yo me didn’t really cuss that much.

I launched on Mireya’s house to sign some paperwork. Priced some tires at Tire Warehouse - gonna need new tires by October. Checked in with the town office to see what the extortion I was going to have to pay to keep the red beast road legal for another year.

Sat down and called the VA, fully expecting to be put on hold so long that the battery in my phone would die.

Miracle of all miracles “Sonya” answered. I quickly explained what information I was looking for. Twenty minutes on and off.

Follow on flight training comes from a different pot. Once I have my class II medical certificate and my private pilot license - instrument, commercial and CFI quals all get paid for by the post 9-11 GI bill.

The only turd in the punchbowl is how fast I can get it done. My eligibility runs out in August of 2020.

That accelerates my timeline, so I am going to have to move money out of my IRA and probably start flying by the end of June. June, July and August to get my PPL. VA school year starts on August 1st.

I’ve already called the flight school, and they don’t have any experience with people funding follow on flight training. From my conversation with Sonya, it turns out I will have to fill out a form to change my “school” to Maine Coastal Flight. The office manager there says she is completely willing to jump through the hoops to make it happen. The school will have to directly charge the VA.

Tick tock. Tick tock.

In a year and a half I will be a flight instructor. Maybe flying with the Civil Air Patrol. Maybe just with MCF.

Why did this take so long? Maybe I just had to get bored enough.

Photobucket


Last updated May 08, 2017


=bernard= May 08, 2017

Sometimes life just works that way, at least that's how it works for me anyway.

Deleted user May 09, 2017

You are going to do it ! Yes !

TruNorth May 09, 2017

This appears to be a good plan.

Deleted user May 11, 2017

A flight instructor? It may have taken awhile but you have definitely arrived.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.