Dis-Easy Living in Coursera Journal

  • May 4, 2017, 7:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Do you have ease of being?

Purpose: reflect upon the extent to which we really live with dis-ease.

Task: think back through your last week and consider those aspects of your life that have troubled you. Evaluate the extent to which these experiences constitute dis-ease in the sense we have been discussing.

Respond: write a post that assesses whether you enjoy ease of being or whether you live in dis-ease, and discuss this with your peers.

My Essay:
I work in a what is typically thought of as a high-stress environment. I am usually able to let the stress roll off my back and go about my days with a smile on my face. The last month, however, all of the little things have been troubling me. I’m just not doing well.

Lately I’ve found that I’ve had difficulty concentrating on things, which impedes my ability to remember to be mindful about what I’m doing, which makes me frustrated at myself. It’s a bit of a vicious cycle. I do think I know part of what my issues is, and I have a doctor’s appointment to correct that, but it’s only one part. I’m not sure how to fix the rest.

When I’m doing well, I enjoy the ease of being. I enjoy immensely stopping to admire a sunset. Paying attention to the flavors of what I’m eating. Listening to the sound of the rain on the sidewalk. When I remember to do those things, like the video suggests, it blossoms outwards into the dailyness of life, and I function better at work.

I’m hoping that by reading some of your responses and really getting back in to this coursera course (I had to take a few weeks off), I will start to feel like my better self again…


Firebabe May 05, 2017

I like listening to the sound of a man with a british accent talking (Tom Hiddleston reading poetry is a favorite), and I like eating a meal, trying to isolate and identify all the flavors. I also like standing out on my deck at night, just before it gets full dark, and closing my eyes, and trying to identify all the little sounds coming from the forest behind our yard. :)

Echo Firebabe ⋅ May 07, 2017

you sound like a very mindful person.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.