Here I Go Again in General

  • May 3, 2017, 9:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Five weeks into Private Pilot Ground School. I actually look forward to going to class, unlike the classes while getting my MBA where a half hour before I would search my brain for any reasonable reason to not go to class. There were times when I actually would have preferred to be in the dentist’s chair.

Class is fun. We are down to four regulars, from the initial class of sixteen or so. The great thing about this school is that once you have paid, you can jump back in anytime the class is offered again.

There are a couple high school kids who are incredibly smart. They know everything about almost every aspect of military aviation - which is obviously where they are heading. During breaks I get to tell stories and they ask questions. They are actually renewing my faith in the human race. They aren’t face down in their phone at every opportunity, but actually engaged with the class.

I have cobbled together the funds to get my PPL this fall. I still need to get the VA to give me a straight answer about follow on qualifications. Their web site says I can get my instrument rating, commercial rating and CFI paid for by the VA. Up to 10K a year in flight time. Would still have to pay for exams. But, in the grand scheme of this fairly inconsequential. So many questions.

I floated around for years with no purpose. The first night of class, the instructor said the flight school was looking for another 3 CFIs. That lit a fire under my ass.

Perfect. Get paid 50 bucks an hour to have someone else pay for my flight time. It wouldn’t be a full time gig, but it would be enough. And I wouldn’t have to work on snow days. Or any day I didn’t want to. Sounds pretty friggin sweet to me.

It is all coalescing. Finally.

Photobucket


Deleted user May 03, 2017

Wow ! That is truly wonderful news ! I am so happy for you !

=bernard= May 04, 2017

You sound in good spirits.

TruNorth May 04, 2017

Glad to read this good report.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.