State of the Box Address in Site Updates

  • Jan. 29, 2014, 5:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My fellow Proseboxicans,

(apparently Proseboxican is not actually a word)

If you had suggested to me one year ago that I would, one year from then, have a successful website collecting most of Open Diary's remaining inhabitants as it shuts down for good, I would have chuckled and complimented you on your delightful imagination.

Then I would tell you that you've smoked enough cannabis for one evening.

Then you'd say, "But seriously... man.... what if two states that legalized weed meet for the Super Bowl..."

And I'd say, "No really. You've had enough. Put the joint down."

And yet, here we are.

What a ride.

I started building this site for my own benefit mainly. I wanted to learn a whole new technology stack, and what better way than to write a new website with it? I thought I might be able to attract a few friends and have fun with it for a while.

I never expected this.

But hey, I'll take it. :)

I'm not one for long-winded speeches, so I'll switch to bullets:

  • Prosebox is very healthy and increasingly profitable. I don't see it going anywhere any time soon.

  • There will definitely be a subscription option to get rid of the ads, if you so choose. I guess I have commitment issues - there's that part of me that rebels a little bit at the idea of an actual contractual obligation. But most of me welcomes it. I just want to make sure I have all my ducks in a row before I introduce it. Right now Prosebox feels a bit like the wild west - no solid laws, no terms of use. But it's coming. Still working on figuring out the details.

  • People have been asking about importing their old diaries here. I'm sure it will be an option at some point. I would use XML since that's the easiest thing to parse from a programming perspective. If you're really intent on using this feature and have the means... XML! Also, I'd probably put it in an archive table, separate from all the current stuff you write (14 years is a lot of baggage, after all...)

  • People have also asked about exporting. That will definitely be an option at some point, though I couldn't say when at this point.

  • Blocking will be coming soon. A lot of people mentioned IP blocking which complicates things a bit, so for now it will just be user blocking. But it will be bi-directional. If you block someone, you're blocked from seeing that person as well.

  • Personalization will probably be a premium feature at some point. This would be limited personalization, like a nice background image on larger displays, but the actual text panels would remain the same. I'm a big fan of readability so that, in my opinion, comes first. People should be able to read stuff in a theme that they personally find comfortable. And to opt out of backgrounds if they so choose. It would be something like this, but perhaps with a little touch of transparency added to the main panels (I had this looking cooler at one point before I tweaked the layout).

  • Backdating entries. Will add this soon.

  • Editing/deleting comments within a limited window of time. Just enough time to catch mistakes. :)

And a lot of other stuff that I'm sure people will remind me of after I post this. :)


.Java.Junkie. January 29, 2014

w00t w00t!!!! This is all Sunshine & lollipops from here on out!!!! :)

Daisy Mae January 29, 2014

Wonderful ideas. And after today's drama trying to download my last few OD entries, a download feature would be much welcomed.

Thanks for all you've done. You've made the loss of OD much easier to deal with.

banker chick Daisy Mae ⋅ January 29, 2014

Agreed! Personalization and a download feature! That's all I want. :)

Lobbastah January 29, 2014

Now I've got the munchies.

Deleted user January 29, 2014

Proud to be froma state that not only legalized pot but is going to the Super Bowl! Coincidence? I say no!

Mum of Yum January 29, 2014

You are good peoples, Simple Mind :)

tali2 January 29, 2014

Awesome, great job! I vote YES on a little more personalization, like the background (but yes, with more transparency). It's just necessary in 2014 so the site doesn't feel old-school. Thanks for all your do, and hosting us OD transplants. :)

Dictynna January 29, 2014

You're doing a great job, and I'm glad you're having fun with it. I think the point when "diary master" type dudes stop having fun is the point when things start to go downhill. of course it's early days so no wonder you're still having fun. ha.

maybe in 15 years you'll not be quite so enthused! for now i'll take it!

Deleted user Dictynna ⋅ January 29, 2014

Yes, there's that niggling thought: it was fun for the DM at first too! :/

Ditch Witch January 29, 2014

I like you already. TY for giving us some love..we werent getting it from OD :)

Cat Mommy January 29, 2014

Looking forward to all the awesome things to come! squee!

Jeanine January 29, 2014

I'm so glad you're here. I don't know what would have happened to us otherwise.

ThisIsME January 29, 2014

All sounds good to me. Editing comment feature I will get the most outta heck I can hardly spell my name without messing up lol

ThisIsME January 29, 2014

Thoughts on a mobiles site? It works pretty good now but I notice the floating box thingy (yes girl talk) gets "stuck" now and again

Justlovely January 29, 2014

I hate ads and will happily pay an annual or 6 month fee regularly to keep them away!

Deleted user January 29, 2014

Standing Ovation.

NorthernSeeker January 29, 2014

Congratulations on your success.

Deleted user January 29, 2014

THANK YOU!!!

Leanne 🌈 January 29, 2014

I need to save my money to buy my weed so um not sure if I will have enough to buy a subscription on PB ;)

But if the price is just right .......

Jack Leanne 🌈 ⋅ January 29, 2014

[LIKE]

Florentine January 29, 2014

Fantastic. I'm excited to be a Proseboxican and can't wait to see the evolution of the site. Thanks for giving us all a safe and welcoming place to build a community around. You're the best!

CollieBrookCrossing January 29, 2014

I'm glad that there is another option now that OD is shutting down. I've been on PB for a little bit, and I'm horribly inconsistent, but hey... at least now I know where I can go when I have my "I NEED TO WRITE THIS!" moments.

Thanks for doing what you do, and I hope PB has better luck than OD.

:-)

SociallyInept January 29, 2014

Thank You so much for having this site.

frazzled January 29, 2014

I love the simplistic look to the site. :)

Butterfly4Him January 29, 2014

This IS very awesome. I really am happy how you write every day, and you interact with us!! Yes, OD is going away, and I honestly am VERY sad about it, but, I am slowly getting used to it here, OH, it's not P.B. it's ME. I am 70, and kinda set in my ways, lol. But, I do have the joy of knowing a whole LOT of my faves/friends are here. I am thankful for you doing this. I have to wonder, do you run a one-woman show? Or, do you have "ghost helpers?" lol. Yes, I have quite a sense of humor most of the time, LOL. Again, T.Y. for EVeryThing, Lois

Soulshine January 29, 2014

Thanks for creating this space for us to have!!!

moongate January 29, 2014

Just wanted to say thank you. Like a friend said to me the other day, "It's okay, we're just moving across the street."

MrsJess January 29, 2014

Thank you for this site and for moving our "home" into a nicer, better functioning, non-dilapidated neighborhood.

softea January 29, 2014

Awesome stuff! I had downloaded my diary in txt but I will go download it in xml as well. Definitely would be willing to purchase a premium account to keep the site profitable as well. Thank you so much for creating this space! I would be lost if open diary had kicked it and I had no other place to go. I used to use the circles quite a bit, particularly when I was younger, and was wondering whether hashtags or offering a limited number of tags to choose from on posts might be able to serve a similar purpose? I have no idea how easy or difficult that would be to integrate though.

santa monica softea ⋅ January 30, 2014

I also used the circles; I found most of my now close friends that way. I think a similar feature would be great. The hashtag idea is pretty cool!

Jack January 29, 2014

  1. I agree that Proseboxian rolls better off the tongue. (although that too is apparently not actually a word)
  2. I know I joke around a lot, but you have my heartfelt gratitude for everything you have (and continue to do).
  3. A blog site that is easy to read? Now THAT'S just crazy talk!
  4. One of my "pet-peeves" (if you want to call it that) is that text doesn't wrap around the pictures to give it more of a "published" look. But, this was also the case at the Other Diary.
  5. I am technologically challenged (by that I mean I don't know how to write code), but I have a pretty good "business sense" and management/organizational skills. If you need help in those (or other) areas, I'd love to be involved in some way. I need a new hobby to keep me off the streets. That just leads to no good.
WumpyPPancakes January 29, 2014

Hey, Simple:

Thank you for creating this site! I really appreciate that we ODers have a space where we can continue to write.

I really am starting to like this site more and more as I use it. I like the simplicity which feels really refreshing. It just easier to post and quite simpler to follow, in my opinion.

Here are the components I like on your site:

1) I LOVE the BOOKS. I also love that EVERYONE who joins has access to them. At OD, you had to have the paid subscription to have "Chapters" which got really confusing a lot of times. Also, the way you have the books setup is really friendly using.

2) I like that you have buttons to follow and become friends with someone. Functionality wise, it is easier for me to click a button than to drop down and select a choice.

3) The comments: I like how you respond to a comment, but on the left side of the menu, you also see updates of comments you receive. OD NEVER had this, and this is a great feature.

Keep up the good work, Friend. If you need anything, just holler!!!

Cheers, S

james ensor January 29, 2014

Good gods, I hope people don't waste the bandwidth archiving their ODs here.

simple mind james ensor ⋅ January 29, 2014

No worries there. I'm really good at learning from the mistakes of others. Rather than slowing the entire site down to a crawl or bringing it down entirely, I would let people upload their huge XML files to my Amazon storage directly (no strain on Prosebox that way), then put a background job in the queue that says, "Hey, when you're not too busy, can you bulk load this into an archive table and then email the user to let them know it's done? Great thanks."

james ensor January 29, 2014

Also, you rock. Thank you for this place. In lieu of payment, please accept this lapdance.

simple mind james ensor ⋅ January 29, 2014

That's awfully generous of you. Ummm thanks?

Tempestuous1 January 29, 2014

I don't know what else to add that others haven't already stated in their "shower of love", so....DITTO! :)

Darling V January 29, 2014

I've been blogging for years and I've gone through two sites in the past year that have shut down for good, so I'm really happy to have found Prosebox and know that it's going to be around for a while. You've done an amazing job with this website!

J.C. January 29, 2014

I wandered onto this site from O.D. like a lost deer on I-95, but so far I'm liking what I'm seeing.

9/10, pretty excited.

ElvenAssassin January 29, 2014

I think the bi-directional blocking is FANTASTIC. Nothing like getting blocked by an asshole who can still leave you notes. And if you really want them to have nothing to do with you, you shouldn't be peeking in on them.

Emmy Lou January 29, 2014

  • trumpet fanfare *
Emmy Lou January 29, 2014

Emmy Lou January 29, 2014

Deleted user January 29, 2014

I'm grateful for your work on Prosebox and I look forward to many happy years here. OD was awesome for a while and, that's what we all get...a while. Enjoy it where you can, while you can. Make the most of it!

Lepetit pumpkinesque January 29, 2014

Sounds great! Put exporting at the top of the list. (I am such a bitch)

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm January 29, 2014

i moved over here last november before od went legs up. i cross posted for as long as i could. i'm very grateful that you've set up this site. i need a place to write. and you provided a safe place to do it. depends on the perks... that will determine if i pay for writing here. the ads don't bother me so much. i could stay like this forever. take care,

Deleted user January 29, 2014

how about when reading entries, you can see the past one on the page that you are currently readin and jump over to it by mousing over

Overachiever January 29, 2014

Oh fer crissakes, just take our money!!!

MageB January 29, 2014

Bookmarks by author. That's it. I can get anywhere if my friends home pages are bookmarked. If the latest entry is also bookmarked, we have heaven.

Thomas January 29, 2014

Thank you for having a haven for those of us who are displaced refugees. How about Proseboxasarians not !!

LAFF January 29, 2014

One thing I enjoyed in OD was the option to sort diarists into general age catagories. Perhaps a sort could be compiled, if the names had ages/ geographical locations/ interests or something. Currently it's a crap shoot... I just click on an interesting name, and see if I like what I'm reading. Not really a problem, but it would be systematically simpler if such sorting were permissible.

MC Freckles LAFF ⋅ January 30, 2014

I actually liked the interests, groups and ages as well but it was dying out in OD... could have been because people were leaving too. Who knows. Good thought though!

DesignSlave January 29, 2014

Fabulous! Thank you for this. Really and truly.

Adira January 29, 2014

You rock. I'm so glad you made this place for us to rebuild the community that was OD so it doesn't have to die! Thanks for all your hard work :)

* Not The Sun* January 29, 2014

As an Od refugee, I just wanted to say thank you for the open arms welcome. I can tell by your writing that you're someone I could easily get along with. but really is there even such thing as "enough cannabis" :p I love your site already and I've only been here since yesterday, but I already feel I can put my feet up and get comfortable here & love it. So just wanted to say in addition to my earlier thanks.... Thank you for everything that you do, I'm sure it takes a lot of work to maintain such an awesome place.

MC Freckles * Not The Sun* ⋅ January 30, 2014

I feel the exact same way! At OD I was tired of the lag, the errors, the lack of... master... i guess. But since opening my account here, I've already begun writing again and I can't help but keep a tab to this place open all the time. :D

LeftisRight January 29, 2014

Bravo! Great job!

Comrade January 29, 2014

Top stuff!

~jillybean~ January 30, 2014

Sounds great

MC Freckles January 30, 2014

I actually like that layout/background picture a lot. When people get fancy with different windows and music and neon flashing colors, I tend to press the back button once or twice (just in case the first hit didn't register) I think that's wise. thank you for taking your time and getting it right instead of winging it and losing that greatness you currently have! :)

hoops January 30, 2014

I kind of feel like the State of the Box should have included a little section letting people know that you've managed to attract and win the loyalty of a certain OD legend which is pretty much the stamp of approval for truly having arrived but if you want to make it all about you and not mention me at all, that's fine too, I guess. ;)

sparkli hoops ⋅ January 30, 2014

oh hoops. it's been so long. lol OD legend indeed. :D :D

sparkli January 30, 2014

you hit on everything i was thinking but (and someone probably mentioned it and i didnt read all your notes) search feature at some point would be awesome. and....hmm something else, now i cant remember. ::thinks:: OH! i was going to ask for a "back to top" link at the bottom of the pages....but what do you know, while i was thinking i noticed it was right there ----->

so yeah, awesome blossom! thanks! :D

edna million January 30, 2014

You have made the loss of OD much easier.

Deleted user January 30, 2014

Thanks, dude. Srsly.

hot-lips January 30, 2014

I like the background image option. Can the text box have some sort of gradient option? So that the image background can kind of be seen through it? But still be opaque enough so that the text can easily be seen and the whole page doesn't make your eyes want to bleed. lol

absolut lilith January 30, 2014

Perhaps this has already been suggested, but maybe a collaborative book option? A user could create a prosebook, then set other members of the community to be able to add entries to it, like for a writer's group or fan group type thing. Or would that be too convoluted or set up for a security breach kinda thing?

FRIDAY'S CHILD January 30, 2014

Thank you!

Decayed Elvis January 31, 2014

You are certainly not a "Proseboxican't"!

simple mind Decayed Elvis ⋅ January 31, 2014

Once Upon a Time in Mexico! :D

Deleted user January 31, 2014

LMFAO. You are truly the best.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ January 31, 2014

:)

Deleted user January 31, 2014

Awesome :) I would be willing to pay for no ads, my own backgrounds and spell check :) I am done with OD

MonK-E February 03, 2014

Sounds like you will be keeping up with the site unlike the OD creator.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.