Oops in Talk Story

  • April 28, 2017, 6:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha…

After weeks and weeks (and months) of rain… today is day two of an incredibly blue sky and warm sunshine…

For the past two weeks I have been suffering from allergies… most likely due to the pollen in the air… stuffy nose… cough… and feeling a bit dis-oriented from time to time…

Today I decided to work (play) in the back yard… clean up some of the debris from the wind, etc…

I discovered a large rock that I decided to move from one side of the yard… to the other… where I have a rock border around my latest landscaping effort…

I picked up this large stone… probably about 50 pounds in weight… and started across the yard… a bit of a struggle as it is one quarter of what I weigh…

As I got close to where I decided to place it… I started moving faster and faster not wanting to drop it and then have to pick it up again…

Well the weight was a little too far in front of me… so my balance was off just a bit… and that is when I tripped…

The rock went forward… and I guess I didn’t let go of it in time… because I tumbled forward as well…

There was no struggle on my part… just fell forward… landing on my right side…

The next thing I knew is that I was on the ground… a bit embarrassed I suppose… but then I was alone so no big deal…

I lay there for some time… as not only was I comfortable… but in a bit of a haze as well…

Eventually I was able to stand up… put the rock where I wanted it… and headed back to the house…

In the bathroom… while looking at my arm in the mirror… discovered a fair amount of blood… and what will eventually become a bruised elbow…

I cleaned my arm with hydrogen peroxide… put a bandage over the cut to keep the blood off my clothes… shook my head at my… well… maybe my impulsiveness in moving the rock when my balance was already in question due to my allergies…

But as I sit here typing this entry… my arm feels fine… the rock looks great where it is in the yard… and now I’m going to fix myself a snack…

Thanks for drifting by… and for your notes to me…

Aloha oe.........


crystal butterfly April 28, 2017

Glad you weren't hurt more and that the rocks final resting place is good.

aunty EM April 29, 2017

Oh, no, Jim!!

ODSago April 29, 2017

Quite an experience you had; and you were very fortunate. Glad it turned out well and the rock is in place and you are ok.

dream seeker April 30, 2017

Oops! I took a tumble like that in my front yard. The ground has washed away in front of the sidewalk in front of the house. It's very uneven and filled with holes. There's about a 10 inch step down, which isn't too much for some, but since I'm only 5 feet - that's a pretty significant step. lol I stepped down, and of course landed in a hole, I didn't want to break my ankle, so I threw myself in the direction I fell and ended up rolling across the ground. I'm just glad no one was there to see! lol
I'm glad you're ok!

TruNorth May 01, 2017

Glad that the damage to yourself was minimal. Sounds like a glorious day otherwise.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.