Every day is a school day in 2017

  • April 27, 2017, 8:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh hey, women folk! Bearer of wombs, havers of periods. Ever heard of a decidual cast? No me either.

Apparently it’s associated with elevated progesterone like in pregnancy, or when your consultant has you take norethisterone for 3 weeks straight. The excess progesterone makes your endometrial lining form some sort of weird cast of the inside of your uterus. Then when you come off the norethisterone and your period starts, instead of it being liquid and clotty like regular period blood it comes away as one whole piece of tissue.

I’m just going to let that sink in.

The whole fucking thing comes out, in one go, from your undilated cervix. And in case you wondered, yeah, that REALLY FUCKING HURTS. The associated cramps caused me to projectile vomit and have explosive diarrhoea so as if the cast of my womb slipping out of my vagina wasn’t sexy enough, that really added to the experience.

The most disappointing thing from this whole situation was that I was so horrified that I didn’t take a picture of it. But apparently that’s what it was, and I’ve never even heard of such a thing. If you’re curious, you google image that shit, but you have been warned.

So there you go ladies. Knowledge is power.

Is it too late to put a TMI warning....?


Last updated May 05, 2017


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.