Warriors & Scoundrels in Magical Realism

  • April 26, 2017, 9:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I should write:
- Good swims and fun times with A and my English Bestie Amy and all our other wonderful friends at the UK Cold Water Swimming Championships
- An amazing and luxurious impromptu Valentine’s Day trip with A to the Atlas Mountains in Morocco to do my Africa Ice Mile while the water was still below 5C
- A truly magical night weaving our way home behind a procession of dancers after a religious celebration dancing and making music through back alleys of Casablanca on the way back from a (touristy but wonderful) dinner at Rick’s Cafe
- Retaining my two National Titles during a ridiculously grueling US Championships weekend
- Being feted in Belgium as a special guest at the 50th annual Traversée Hivernale de la Meuse, winning both women’s events, making a speech, and staying as a guest in a gorgeous castle
- An amazing trip to the Arctic Circle in Norway, staying in this brand new cabin with an awesome group of friends, becoming the first set of Polar Ice Milers and partying like rockstars, including being treated to the most fantastic display of Northern Lights I have ever seen, and skinny dipping under spectacular Aurora Borealis
- Successful North American Ice Mile in Boston less than a week later and some fun with other swimmers in town for the 1k event later that weekend - the 1k did not end up happening because conditions were tough, but it was still fun to see everyone
- Inagural Start-Up event for work went off well
- Successful Strait of Magellan swim after a beautiful but very stressful group trip in Chilean Patagonia
- Since then I’ve been hibernating a bit, still traveling for work 1-2 days a week since I’ve been home, but trying to buckle down with work and training with varying degrees of success
- I have a few things I want to do to wrap up this season, a few meaningful summer swims on the radar, but aside from that I feel like some changes may be ahead for me.
- I’m in a weird place where I feel like I’ve been doing well but not doing much beyond the minimum in a lot of parts of my life. I need to start choosing a few things to focus on, and clear a bit more space to breathe, reflect, and improve. It’s so hard to pick and choose though. Trying to be patient with myself. The highs are addictive but it’s not possible to go on like this forever. Is it?

“Poetas y mendigos, músicos y profetas, guerreros y malandrines, todas las criaturas de aquella realidad desaforada hemos tenido que pedirle muy poco a la imaginación, porque el desafío mayor para nosotros ha sido la insuficiencia de los recursos convencionales para hacer creíble nuestra vida.”

(Poets and beggars, musicians and prophets, warriors and scoundrels, all creatures of that unbridled reality, we have had to ask but little of imagination, for our biggest challenge has been a lack of conventional recourse to render our lives believable.)

~ Gabriel García Márquez


Last updated May 09, 2017


Complicated Disaster April 26, 2017

You have the most amazing life 😊 xx

Deleted user April 26, 2017

maybe! it would be rad if you were like the 100 year old ice swimming champion or something.

Deleted user April 26, 2017

As long as you can keep up the pace and you are happy doing it then I say ; Go for it . You do so many amazing things in magical places !

Ginger Snap April 26, 2017

It's amazing to read this - you are one of the most accomplished people I have ever "known" and yet, you still want to make improvements. I'm watching this space closely, as always!

Congratulations on your incredible accomplishments! The rewards are well deserved! Morocco and all of the other places sound like a dream!

BlueEyedDevil April 26, 2017

So glad to hear from you, and congratulations on all of your accomplishments!

.bob April 26, 2017

The first half of this entry would be enough amazing memories and accomplishments for one lifetime for some. You have such drive and wonderful sense of adventure. I'll be eager to see how you make space for reflection and focus. I feel that need too.
xo

dickson. April 26, 2017

You are an amazing human being.

Deleted user April 26, 2017

Slacking off a bit I see. I hope you pull it together and get alittle more productive over the summer. 😑

So...when are you coming to Toronto? The water's always cold here. 😄

kmh. April 26, 2017

My god, you're good!

aussie_powers April 26, 2017

sounds like fun

pandora April 27, 2017

I want to see pics of Morocco! That sounds like a magical trip, and romantic! Congrats, as always, on your titles and achievements. ☺

plushcreep April 27, 2017

The closest I have ever been to Morocco is the Moroccan meatball soup I made two nights ago. I think that your minimum is still more than most people's maximums. Keep enjoying your adventures - I love living vicariously through you!

sarahbaby. April 27, 2017

Dude. Your life!! Holy shit!

Mercurial Muse April 28, 2017

You have an amazing life and no matter what you chose I doubt it will be any less amazing.

Bluesea April 30, 2017

I was so happy to see your name pop up. Doing amazing things as always.

Jigger May 01, 2017

I came across an article about your Lake Geneva swim. I was so excited! "I KNOW HER!" Never mind the definition of "know." ;)

Deleted user September 07, 2017

Hey...miss your entries. How are you doing?

Jigger December 22, 2017

I hope you are well. I miss your writing.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.