Extreme Diets in The Mundane Ramblings of an Insane Mind

  • April 25, 2017, 12:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So… I’ve been on nearly every kind of diet and “lifestyle” in my life… vegetarianism, veganism, raw vegan, pescatarian, Atkins, Paleo, Primal, SAD (Standard American Diet), LCHF (Low Carb High Fat), Whole 30, Keto…

And so, I’ve discovered a diet even more extreme than any of these, and I’m about to try it for a month… but I’m not telling anyone.. except whoever reads this.

Breatharianism… subsisting on nothing but air.. no food, no drink. I will just breathe deeply, and…

No, wait. I’m crazy, but I’m not THAT crazy. (Although breatharianism is actually a “thing”… I didn’t make it up).

Actually, what I plan to do is a Zero Carb diet. Just animal products, for 30 days. ONLY meat, fish, eggs, and some dairy. No vegetables or fruits of any kind. No sugar of any kind. NOTHING with a sweet taste. Only water to drink (though some do choose unsweetened tea and coffee).

People report amazing results. Better sleep, better skin, clearer thinking and focus, way more energy, etc. Oh, and the loss of a substantial amount of weight. After just 30 days.

I’ve joined some forums on Facebook where this is a popular thing. People have eaten this way for YEARS, and they’re fine. They go to their doctor, have their blood drawn, and their numbers are perfect, and doctors shake their heads and say, “Um, what do you eat again?”

Although I’m not thinking long term here, I’ve thought of the implications of doing this long-term:

No need for any books on gardening
No need for most cookbooks
My pantry would be pretty empty (if I was single).
No need for a lot of cookware, or a blender, or a juicer, etc.

So, why this, for me? Yeah, I’m overweight. My wife had the gastric sleeve surgery and has lost 80 lbs. so far, and still eats crap. She thinks I should get the surgery, because I “can’t stick with anything.” Sorry, surgery is not an option for me.

Wheat/bread makes me feel like crap. So does sugar. I binged out on sugar today to see how I’d feel. And.... absolutely horrible. SUGAR IS POISON. It will kill you… slowly.

I used to smoke. I never thought I’d be able to quit, but I did. And I no longer have an urge to smoke. The addiction is gone. The desire is gone. I still have cigarettes. Not as a temptation, but as a reminder. I’m not tempted.

I want it to be the same way with sugar. To just not even care.

So, 30 days. Most of all, I want to break my sugar/carb addiction, I want to be able to focus better, and I want more energy. Losing a few pounds in the process wouldn’t hurt, either.

Although I almost never write on here, I intend to document this 30 day journey. Not sure when I’m starting. I think tomorrow. I don’t want another day like today. I will start with my weight, measurements, and possibly some ghastly photos of myself. :)

Each day, or whenever I can, I will post what I ate and how much I drank. I intend to drink a lot of water. And exercise. I would like to lose 30 pounds in 30 days, and frankly, I think it’s possible.

Now is a good time to do this. Easter is past, and we were just at the in-laws for dinner recently (and they almost ALWAYS serve pasta). I hate having to explain my latest diet to those close to me, until I’m seeing some actual, tangible results.

My wife will probably freak out. Which is why I’m going to hold off telling her as long as possible. I once went 6 WEEKS without sugar, and then she brought home Christmas cookies for me, and I ate ONE, and that set me off, and that was the end of that. But I felt pretty darn good for those 6 weeks.

My brain is fighting me on this. “But you’ll miss root beer, and baklava, and sushi, and Indian food....” Yes. To do this forever is daunting. But I’m not thinking forever. I’m thinking 30 days. And if that goes well, then… perhaps another 30 days.

Oh, and brain? One, shut up. Two… Root beer.. sugar, I can do without it. Baklava, wheat and sugar, same. Sushi? I can have sashimi.. nearly as good if not better. And Indian food ALWAYS makes me feel horrible after I eat it.. and puts me into a coma.

My wife gets pissed a lot because I get so into food when we go out, I fixate on it, that I lose focus on other things. So I really love this line from a zero carb blog. So much, I might get it printed on a t-shirt:

I don’t get bored with my food, because I don’t need it to entertain me. It’s simply fuel.

This is from a person who lost 125 pounds eating this way. She used to eat a variety of foods every day, and now mostly eats just burgers every day, yet doesn’t find it boring.

http://myzerocarblife.jamesdhogan.com/wp/2015/02/post-7-six-tips-eating-zero-carb/


raeven April 25, 2017

Wow.. good luck! I can't even imagine no veggies.

Deleted user April 25, 2017

Interesting... why no veggies?
Either way, I hope it works out for you. Zero carbs would be really freaking hard.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.