Stuff in Diary

  • April 24, 2017, 9:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday I decided to move the sofabed downstairs as I’ve had a few people on Freecycle interested in taking it so I wanted it to be ready. I quickly regretted trying to do that on my own. It got wedged in the bedroom door. It got wedged on the landing. It got wedged at the top of the stairs. It fell down the stairs and almost broke my back when it landed on me. It got wedged again at the bottom of the stairs, with me underneath. No jokes about pivoting please! The whole thing took 40 minutes and all the walls are covered in scratched now, urgh.

Luckily it fits nicely in the bay window in the living room. So if anyone comes to look round while it’s still here, it shows the potential of being able to fit two sofas in the living room.

Also yesterday, I decided to get rid of the canvas wardrobe. I’ve had it a while and it started to bend because I put too much in it. I also wanted to create some more space in the room it was in, seeing as though everyone thinks the rooms are too small.

To empty the wardrobe, I first had to sort through some more of Jay’s clothes to make space. Most of it I put into bags for charity. Some things I couldn’t part with. I ended up keeping about 10 t-shirts, although I have no idea what I’m going to do with them, they all have good memories. (EDIT: Thanks to all the people who keep suggesting I make his clothes into quilts / cushion covers / teddy bear shirts etc. but I can’t bring myself to cut his clothes up, I want to keep them as they were when he was wearing them.)

I don’t feel as attached to any of his jeans and trousers. Except for one pair of old, faded, ripped up jeans that he wore all the time. I was doing ok until I had almost finished and then I burst into tears out of nowhere. Urgh, this is difficult. It’s taken more than six months and there’s still so much of his stuff to sort through.

I did find a £20 note and €4 in one of his pockets, along with a load of receipts from 2015. So that money’s been in there for two years! So a small thank you to Jay, I can take the €4 to Amsterdam.

So now the canvas wardrobe has gone and there are hardly any of Jay’s clothes left in the house. It doesn’t feel right, like I’m pushing out, even though he’s been gone over six months already. But the spare room is looking a lot bigger and more open now.

I’ve booked in to have the gutters cleaned and I’ve ordered a jet washer to clean the patio, walls and fence so hopefully that’ll make the outside of the house look a bit better.

I also need to get the intruder alarm fixed. A couple of years ago it just kept going off so Jay disabled it and we haven’t used it since. Another little thing that might help to make it more attractive to buyers.

Always so much to do.



My budgie is sick :o( I came home from work today and his chest is massively swollen. The lump is very soft. He also has wet, smelly poo and is all puffed up. Everything I’ve read says he has an impacted crop, so I’m going to have to get him to the vet asap. He’s still eating and drinking ok, I’m not sure what’s caused it, I hope I can get him to the vet in time.


Last updated April 24, 2017


Complicated Disaster April 24, 2017

*hugs* It's going to be hard even after 6 months. xx

wintergrey April 24, 2017

One of my faves on here had a memory quilt made of her sister's late husband's music t-shirts. Apparently it turned out amazingly well. x

history of love April 24, 2017

I hope you're ok after the sofa bed removal...I've done stuff like that before as well where you get half way through it and think "what was I thinking!?"

Just over 6 months isn't any time at all.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.