Database was down, site back up again in Site Updates

  • April 23, 2017, 2:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My apologies for the Internal Server Error messages. I let the database server disk get filled up (not good) because backups were failing (also not good). Got the clogged pipes cleaned out and the data is flowing again, making the database server much slimmer again.

Long story short, things are fine again, and I need to take advantage of the new monitoring tools my server host is now providing to catch these things earlier.


Cat Mommy April 23, 2017

As usual it's never down for long!

Neogy Titwhistle April 23, 2017

Yep, not worrying whether the IT guru got bored with it and pulled the plug. That never happens, right? No worries mate!

simple mind Neogy Titwhistle ⋅ April 23, 2017

It's a pretty low-maintenance site for the most part, I think I'll keep it plugged in. :)

Deleted user April 23, 2017

No need to apologize at all! I actually accomplished a few things while Prosebox was down. Thank you so much for all that you do. I sure do appreciate you simple mind. I hope you and your family are well. How are things going with your new home search? I can't wait to go to Washington in July! I'm counting down the days. :)

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ April 23, 2017

Thanks! It's going well. Mostly we've just been browsing, and I want to visit WA in July to scope out a potential place to buy (and have a bit of fun as well). Mostly I've just been trying to get rid of all the junk in our house that I don't want to deal with when we decide to sell and move. :)

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ April 24, 2017

Good to begin decluttering now in preparation for your intended move. You take good care now. :)

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ April 23, 2017

  • In June I mean, you're the one visiting in July. :)
The Thirsty Oriental April 23, 2017

It's always good to clean out the pipes.

Miss Carrie B. The Thirsty Oriental ⋅ April 23, 2017

Leave it to you to leave this comment haha.

simple mind Miss Carrie B. ⋅ April 23, 2017

=D

J.E. April 23, 2017

๐Ÿ‘

Deleted user April 23, 2017

:)

Leanne ๐ŸŒˆ April 23, 2017

All good. ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ˜Š

Dirty Numb Angelboy April 23, 2017

The customer service here is awesome. Nothing against Open Diary, but remember when it'd take days or even weeks? It's so weird having it up and running just like that. Thank you.

simple mind Dirty Numb Angelboy ⋅ April 23, 2017

You're welcome! There's really no excuse for that, if you set up some proper monitoring stuff to email you when things go south. If I stopped caring to the point I couldn't be bothered to keep things running, I'd either try to sell or email every site user in advance to warn them of a shut down so everyone could export their data (I'm only speaking theoretically, this isn't something I've been thinking about doing!)

cricket_factor April 23, 2017

Thank you!

bobbi01 April 23, 2017

Love your work!

Mr. Mofo April 23, 2017

I actually wondered about you the other day. I thought maybe you owed money to the wrong goons or something and got buried next to Hoffa.

I didn't even notice an outage.

Take care,

simple mind Mr. Mofo ⋅ April 23, 2017

Nah, just a minor mishap during an epic battle of diary admins - from which I have recovered. The DiaryMaster threw simple mind off Hell In A Cell, and plummeted 16 ft through an announcerโ€™s table.

Jigger April 23, 2017

I noticed, but figured, "Pshh, he's on it." The old panic doesn't even rise up any more. You're The Shit, man.

Deleted user April 23, 2017

Thank-you !!!

MageB April 25, 2017

Thank you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.