"NOT ALL MY WRITING STUFF ARE GOOD, BUT THERE'S ALWAYS A ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT" in "FROM THE WORDPLAY WARRIOR"

  • April 21, 2017, 4:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m not trying to be modest here (because I already am, ha-ha. Nah, kidding. I try to be, though.) Still, let me be the first to say this:

Not all my writing stuff are good.

I love writing. Sometimes, it feels more like an addiction I refuse to cure. There are always thoughts in my head, feelings in my heart - just like everybody else.

I sometimes need to get them all out. That’s why for me, writing feels much better than talking.

How do I get ideas to write every day? Many things, from personal experiences to stories of others. But why do I write more dark stuff?

I’m not a blind optimist. I mean, I still know how to be happy and grateful with life, thankfully. That doesn’t mean I deflect reality. After all, this life ain’t no fairy tale. There’s a whole lot of ugliness out there and around us that I just can’t - and won’t - ignore.

Just because bad things don’t happen to you, it doesn’t mean they’re not there for you to see.

I try to avoid using real names if it’s based on a true story. Even if I have to, I change them or give them nicknames. It’s not always successful, though. I’ve broken a special friendship once. It’s a good thing the person’s already forgiven me.

These days, I prefer solutions. Offering solutions to problems sounds much better than just complaining about them, even if they happen to be part of the problem. (By the way, I am only human too and can also be part of a problem.) Too many people are already doing that on social media, even without mentioning names.

I’m not afraid to post my writing, even when I think it’s not always good. Why? I believe that there’s always a room for improvement. It should be a conscience to remain humble. From there, you still have that will to learn.

R.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.