Easter and Mother's Day in The View from the Terrace

  • April 20, 2017, 7 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I haven’t posted for a while, mainly because I was still not feeling well from the flu, it left me feeling really washed out and finding it hard to concentrate. I’m feeling much better now.

Easter was a pleasant quiet family time. On the Saturday we went to a flower festival in a local church.
alt text

Chris came for dinner on the Sunday then he and Hubby watched the Grand Prix together. Chris is rather fed up at the moment because his house mate Jethro, who is a builder is doing renovations to their house and he can’t use the bathroom. As he works just up the road he has been coming here for a shower. They do have a downstairs cloakroom with toilet and washbasin, but the last time he called he told us that Jethro had knocked down the wall between that and the kitchen in order to make it bigger, and that is the only toilet usable with the bathroom out of order, the mind boggles!

Over the holiday I got to thinking about past Easters and one that always comes to mind was when Cat was about 4, Chris 8 and Tony a baby. We had our own caravan at that time at Broad Haven on the coast of Pembrokeshire in South West Wales and we went there for the Easter holiday weekend. We thought it would be lovely to go to the Easter Day service in St David’s cathedral. St David’s is only the size of a small town but is a city, the smallest in the UK. The cathedral is very tall and has a large crucifix hanging from the ceiling just in front of the alter.

When we arrived at the cathedral it was very full. We found seats and were waiting for the service to begin when Cat started fidgeting and looking around. ‘Where’s Jesus?’ she said in a rather loud voice.
I shushed her but she didn’t listen. ‘Where’s Jesus, I can’t see him. oh there he is on that cross!’ I hadn’t told Cat the Easter story yet as I thought she was too young. By now people were looking and some were smiling. ‘What’s Jesus doing on that cross, Mum?’ I told her firmly to be quiet and I would explain after the service, this time she listened and didn’t say any more.

After the service I did tell her the Easter story. She listenend attentively. Then on the way back to the caravan we passed a big tree with branches roughly in the shape of a cross. ‘Is that the cross that Jesus died on Mum’ she said.
I told her no it was in a country a long way away but for months every time we were out in the car and we saw anything that looked vaguly like a cross she would ask, ‘Is that the cross that Jesus died on?’ Her brother got really fed up with her!

I want to tell you about Mother’s Day. I was going to write about it at the time, March 26th, but I didn’t get around to it because I became ill soon after. I had such a lovely day. Chris came in the morning with a lovely blue orchid and a box of chocs.
alt text

Cat sent a beautiful basket of flowers.
alt text

Then in the evening Tony and Justeen took us and her mum out for a meal. Afterwards Tony gave me a pretty garden ornament and a cup with my initial on it.
alt text
I felt so spoiled.

The tulips are all out in the garden now and it looks very colourful and this year the magnolia looks better than ever. I planted it about 10 years ago when it was under 3 feet tall, now look at it.
alt text


Last updated April 20, 2017


Deleted user April 20, 2017

Glad you are better ! You did get some nice gifts!

Marg April 20, 2017

Aw that was a lovely day - I love your garden ornament - I almost bought one similar to that the other week! Magnificent magnolia! Glad you're feeling better now :)

^..^Kat April 20, 2017

I'm glad you are feeling better. Such pretty pictures!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.