Deleted! in The Long and Winding Road

  • Jan. 29, 2014, 1:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I wasn't feeling all that sentimental about the demise of Open Diary -- I've been cross-posting between here and there for awhile now. Yesterday I downloaded my diary, one year at a time. I wanted to give it a day or so before deleting my diary there. I realize that doesn't mean the diary isn't out there somewhere in cyberspace, but that's out of my control -- it was important to me to at least delete it and feel like I had some control over it. I was going to wait a few more days before doing so, but the site was so overloaded all day today that I couldn't get it to load up until just now, so I seized the moment and went ahead and deleted it. Now that gave me a bit of a heavy heart. But it's done now.

Most of my entries are friends only. I post pictures and share things I wouldn't share with just anyone, and even though I haven't personally met most of my diary friends, I feel like I know them and trust them. But the only way I'll make new friends is to have a few public entries too. So this is one of them. I notice that some of my friends are writing little autobiographical entries to introduce themselves, so maybe I'll do that. Don't have time right now but will come back soon.

My diary name on Open Diary was Elan. I think I've found most of my friends here already, and added you all to my friends list, but if you can't see any other recent entries from me, you aren't on my list -- at least, I'm assuming that once you're my friend you can see all the books I publish -- so let me know if you don't see any other recent entries so I can add you.

Ciao for now!


Just Annie January 29, 2014

I downloaded my diary yesterday, although I haven't written there in months. I wanted to delete it today, but couldn't access the website. I met my hubby on OD, along with several other wonderful people, but I am not as sad as I thought I would be.

Swirly Girl January 29, 2014

I tried to download my diary today, but the server was down): and prosebox was also down.

NorthernSeeker January 29, 2014

Question...when you downloaded your diary did it save the photos, too?

Beret January 30, 2014

I've downloaded. Most of my pics were on photobucket so should still be there. I guess the ones uploaded directly to OD will be gone. But you know what? I wasn't that heart wrenching or anything like that to get rid of the diary after downloading. Time to move on I guess. OD has been dead for so long it's rather anticlimactic.

Zipster February 01, 2014

Glad to have found you again.

woman in the moon February 16, 2014

Mine's still there. Wherever there is.

GrammaDode July 16, 2014

I am so excited to have found you! I had looked under Elan, which was the only name I could remember (my only excuse: I'm old!) I hope I can return as your friend because you write such fabulous entries and I LOVE the pictures. You know how I realized it was you? I saw Bing's name and a bell rang immediately! Now I am rejoicing!

Anaiss GrammaDode ⋅ July 17, 2014

Nice to "see" you! There are several people that I lost during the transition from OD. Where did you see Bing's name which helped you find me?? I'm so curious! I will add you now and get caught up with you.

GrammaDode Anaiss ⋅ July 18, 2014

I was reading the comments on Starting Over's entry that mentioned how many loads of sheets she had to wash. I don't always read comments, so it must have been fate! I consider myself lucky.....

Anaiss GrammaDode ⋅ July 18, 2014

That is such a sweet thing to say (write). Thank you! I'm glad you found me!

Deleted user January 06, 2015

Mine is still there; floating in cyber space !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.