Hookie! :oD !! in A New Beginning

  • April 13, 2017, 1:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today I took a sick-of-it day from work. It’s just my third day I’ve taken this year and I have nine left, so I said GO FOR IT. The past week-and-a-half was darn tiring, working overtime every day doing a job I don’t normally do, PLUS my last epidural injection has worn off and I get plenty sore from work too. Today was The Dreaded Cheesesteak Sub Day, and I just decided to let someone else slop around with that stuff! Our manager is back as well as our favorite substitute, so they shouldn’t have had any trouble getting things done by people. If they did, it wasn’t my fault anyway! I had a perfectly lovely day NOT being at work! :o) !!

This morning I was sore, so I went back to bed for a nap! And when I got up again, I felt much better. I changed the sheets on our bed, baked some cranberry/orange bread (Joe likes quick breads for his breakfast a day or two a week), tossed laundry about and did some dishes.

When the bread came out of the oven, I packed up my camera and went to Abbots Mill Nature Center to enjoy walking peacefully and picture-taking, all by myself. I don’t get to go hiking by myself that often anymore, since I have two sisters who both enjoy going hiking BUT THEY CAN’T DO IT TOGETHER. rolls eyes I’m looking forward to summer vacation, when for a few months I will have enough time to include my much-loved alone-time as well!

CONTINUED NEXT DAY....

Heh, I think certain people at work suspect that I wasn’t sick at all and just stayed home yesterday because I didn’t want to serve cheesesteaks. How dare they?? :o) Today when Don Jumper (Director of Child Nutrition) came over to our school, he greeted me with, “Linda, we had to change the menu around! We’re havin’ cheesesteaks today!” (He was joking; that was not true!) For awhile I was miffed, thinking that anyone would doubt me! Hahaha! That was pretty silly of me, considering they were right! :oD

Today was an alright day at work. I’ll admit, I found Brad (our young man who has Aspergers) rather annoying today. :o( But I just have to remember that some of what he does is just the Aspergers. He thinks it’s funny to say “no!” whenever a kid asks for something. Like “Can I have broccoli?” and he will say “no!” but then of course he gives it to them.

At first the kids seemed to find it funny too, but he’s still doing it and no one thinks it’s funny anymore and he doesn’t even notice that they don’t. I ought to tell him to stop doing it, I guess. I guess I’m kinduv just wishing he WOULD stop doing it!

Tomorrow is our last day of work before Spring Break!!!!! I AM SO GLAD!!!!


thesunnyabyss April 13, 2017

we call those mental health days up here, lol, and everyone needs a mental health day now and again,

how long is your spring break, how awesome to have it late enough the weather is nice,

have a great day!

woman in the moon April 13, 2017

Maybe telling the NO! guy would be a kindness. To him as well as everybody else. Do it privately. (Which I know you would. )

Ragdolls April 14, 2017

You should have answered the guy with "that's fantastic because cheesesteak day goes by so fast, it's like I didn't even have a workday" LOL. And I would be tempted to reply to the kids asking "can I have" about anything "well, can you?" until they learned the difference between the use of "can I" and "May I" (just a personal pet peeve) Are you counting down the days till summer break?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.