Happy boy in Hello.

  • April 4, 2017, 2:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Rob has completely thrown himself headlong into his job. When he first started, he had a bit of a wibble and almost packed it in. But he stuck at it and has been working HARD. Staying beyond his shift, covering at short notice. He’s never late and always washes and irons his own uniforms. I keep telling him his enthusiasm wouldn’t go unnoticed. Brewers Fayre are keen on staff motivations, offering incentives and training plans.
This morning there was a team appraisal. He was a bit worried, wondering why they wanted to speak to them at 9am. He needn’t have worried. An hour and a half later he was home, massive grin on his face. He said the staff had to appraise the company as a whole, their likes and dislikes. Then they got appraisal certificates from the kitchen and general managers. Rob’s were glowing! They seemed really happy with him, mentioning coming in at short notice and helping to train a newbie whilst on duty. He also got two iron on badges, which he couldn’t wait to put on his uniform. He said “are you proud of me, mum?” I had to blink back the tears as I hugged him. “Always, son.”
After that he went for a haircut, which he loved, then we went out for a bite to eat. I don’t think I’ve eaten out quite so much as I have since he came home!
He said that Premier Inn are planning on opening a hotel in Ulverston at the other end of the county. He was told that his skills are transferable to any Brewer’s Fayre, so he’s seriously considering moving to another branch once he’s been here a while. Ulverston would be great, not too far away for us to visit regularly.
This month has been tight money wise! Both girls have school trips coming up, Bel is going to Edinburgh for a few days, Eleanor to Alnwick. Both those trips have been paid up in full, meaning I can only make the minimum payment on my credit card this month. We almost maxed it when we were down in Bedford/Stevenage. Three weeks in hotels is expensive, haha! I don’t know about anyone else, but I find it incredibly cathartic to pay off bills. I’m not bothered about keeping money in a savings account. It’s nice, but I’d rather have nothing and no debts!


Last updated April 05, 2017


~Twinkle~ April 04, 2017

I'm the same, always try to sort the bills. Both school trips sound great and well done Rob!

Tuesday's Child April 04, 2017

Glad Rob is feeling better!

Bomb Shell April 05, 2017

I'm so pleased Rob is doing well and is enjoying his work now. Such a huge turnaround for him! :o)

I'm with you, I like having no debts too. Martin Lewis always recommends it anyway as the interest you pay on debts will always be higher than any interest you might earn in a savings account.

Perpetually Plump April 05, 2017

"are you proud of me?" "always" that made me tear up. What a beautiful moment.

Seacláid April 05, 2017

If I had my own place here, I could've offered you a cheap bed. I'm glad he's doing a lot better now.

Lucretia April 05, 2017

I HATE being in debt, although I know having a credit card to pay off is good for your credit rating (and my mortgage scares the crap out of me). But yes, I'm so much happier owing nothing.

And that's great news about Rob, I'm so glad he's doing well and has found a company that's supportive. That's so important.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.