Books and gardens in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • April 4, 2017, 3:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need.

Cicero

I must have several thousand books upstairs in my living quarters at the family home in downtown Charleston. Most have been accumulated over the past 20 years that I have lived in Charleston. I probably have another 500 or so books in my storage unit Over the years, I’ve given away many hundreds of books to libraries. You get the picture. I love books, being surrounded by them, buying them, thinking about buying them – everything about books. They are the bulwark of my rather isolated life, confined to work and caregiving. They give me comfort and security. I’d rather be reading or looking through books than anything else.

For decades I’ve visited and browsed in bookstores with the keen eye of a practiced book buyer and book lover. At the used books place here, I’ve made many a purchase I never thought I’d ever make. That’s why I love bookstores so much – like libraries, they are civilizing spaces, refuges from the madness of a world gone bonkers, and a place where you know like-minded people gather. I wanted to work in a bookstore many times in the past, and almost got a chance to work in my favorite bookstore in Columbia, SC, at one time, but that was 30 years ago and is a rather sad and unfortunate story.

I buy books to have and to cherish, even if I don’t read them. A sizable portion of my library consists of art and photography books, so I have the luxury of just looking through the photos and artwork. Nowadays, I purchase many of my books on Amazon. There are hardly any independent bookstores left in Charleston for me to browse in. I still go to Barnes & Noble and support it, but usually buy things other than books, ironically.

I have four bookshelves all stuffed to overflowing. The rest of the books are in piles on the floor and along the long hallway upstairs waiting a time when I have that dream house and personal library where everything will fit on shelves.

I’m also rather obsessed with photo books of other people’s own libraries and collections of books. Some of my favorite books are about the books of others. There is nothing so fine, beautiful and civilized as a perfectly realized room (library) full of books on neat shelves.

Co-equal with books among my great loves are gardens. I may not be a gardener myself, but I love to photograph them from the street on my walks, admire them in spring, and perhaps wistfully long for the day when I have my own place and can do some gardening myself. All year long, I photograph my favorite places in Charleston – Magnolia Gardens and Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site. The camellias and azaleas were especially beautiful this year.

Life without books and gardens is unimaginable for me. One’s collection of books allows others to see into our very souls, deeply, each title a little biographical marker and signifier of our lives and interests.

Printed books – may they long prosper and enrich our lives!

The first photo below is of one of my bookshelves. Others are of bookshelves and rooms of books that I find particularly appealing and recent photographs at local gardens.

Untitled

Untitled

IMG_2306

Untitled

IMG_2307

DSC_2471

DSC_2497

DSC_2490

DSC_2517


Last updated April 04, 2017


Newzlady April 04, 2017

A true bibliophile!

=bernard= April 04, 2017

As a sometime antique dealer I have a library myself, some of the books I have are out of print. I consider myself lucky to have this kind of research material.

ConnieK April 04, 2017

My husband sometimes mutters that I married a carpenter so that I'd always have someone to build more bookshelves. My living room shelves are similar to third picture down, except mine have cabinets and a desk on the lower half and that long table of books would drive me crazy. I DO like my window seat. Great spot for reading. I like the shelves in the family room best, though. The shelves are enclosed with glass doors. The glass is so old, it is wavy. :) GORGEOUS Azaleas!

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ April 07, 2017

My brother built some beautiful bookshelves (shown in the top picture) for my books but all three of them have long since been filled to capacity.

Deleted user April 04, 2017

I could have written this entry. My biggest interests are my books, gardening and my pets .

Deleted user April 04, 2017

And my kids of course :-)

Deleted user April 04, 2017

In fact I was trying to figure out how to have Gabe, the kid that helps me with the house build some cheap bookcases fast tomorrow :-)

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ April 07, 2017

How I wish I had a rather large space that I could dedicate to my books!

Deleted user Oswego ⋅ April 07, 2017

I have way too many books. Probably thirty years worth of collecting . As I reshelbe them, I definitely have to thin them out.

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ April 07, 2017

That's the he hardest part. I don't know what to part with for the most part. It'll be easy with a few books, but the rest: I treasure them all.

Deleted user Oswego ⋅ April 07, 2017

I know I have to part with some of them. It's getting to be like a hoarder :-)

Deleted user April 05, 2017

HAPPY BIRTHDAY to you dear friend! :)

Marg April 06, 2017

I have that same obssession! I remember going to stay at my brother's house and he was housesitting for a neighbour who was away. I went with him to help water the plants and gasped when I walked into their large sitting-room. One whole wall was just bookshelves :) I was so jealous! E-books will never replace 'the real thing' for me.

Those pics of the gardens just make me want to be there!

Oswego Marg ⋅ April 07, 2017

I remember being fascinated from an early age with people's book collections. I was very curious too about so many different subjects.

Marg Oswego ⋅ April 08, 2017

I remember also going to stay with my aunt in Edinburgh one Christmas. She owned a fairly small hotel and there were no rooms available for us so my uncle, who had a house round the corner in which he rented out rooms to students in term time, gave my mum and I a room each there as the students were away for the holidays. The room I was in was pretty spartan but had a fireplace with a mantelpiece and along it were a row of books. Many of them were authors I was also reading at the time and immediately I felt an affinity with the girl who stayed there. It was quite powerful. You wouldn't get that from e-books! :)

Oswego Marg ⋅ April 08, 2017

What a charming story! I agree completely.

Marg April 06, 2017

And one of my favourite verses growing up was an inscription one of my my aunts had on a garden seat in her beautiful front garden -

"The kiss of the sun for pardon;
the song of the birds for mirth;
One is nearer God's heart in a garden;
Than anywhere else on earth".

(Dorothy Frances Gurney)

Oswego Marg ⋅ April 07, 2017

I love that verse. It's a big favorite of mine.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.