The only thing that really bothers me about OD closing... in Things that matter

  • Jan. 28, 2014, 9:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

There are diaries of people that have died. Their words will be gone. I recently lost an OD fave to brain cancer, and the thought that her bravery, even to the very end, will be gone? It's devastating.

:-(

Otherwise, good riddance to poorly written code, poorly maintained servers, and clicking on "bookmarks" and then refreshing the page 6 times before it would load :-)


Deleted user January 28, 2014

that is sad. i knew a few people who passed away that had diaries and their words will be gone also.. sad to think about.

Laurie Deleted user ⋅ January 28, 2014

I am really gutted to think that people left their deepest and darkest feelings knowing they would be there for family/friends, and nope. I know the friend that died posted to a blog as well, but she did NOT post her private thoughts and feelings there as she did on OD :-( I wish the owner would have at least figured out some way of keeping those diaries alive :-(

Deleted user January 28, 2014

what happens to all the words we wrote? will they vanish?

Laurie Deleted user ⋅ January 28, 2014

I believe so :-( The DM didn't mention saving anything, so I'm assuming everything will just be gone :-(

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ January 28, 2014

Unless he sells the database. Hope he doesn't sell it to marketeers; they'll datamine it.

I recommend that you delete your diary over there before the site goes down.

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ January 28, 2014

if I can ever get on to do so! yikes… that's just a bit scary to wonder what will happen to all those private (or, at least, personal) words!

moongate January 28, 2014

Saw you on the front page. This is what breaks my heart, too. Losing the words of those we loved, when it might be all we have left of them.

Laurie moongate ⋅ January 28, 2014

I can think of 3-4 writers that have died and I know some people still go back and read what they had written. As for the one I read that died recently she wrote elsewhere, and while she did not write her private thoughts elsewhere, she did write other things. I can at least go find her blog and read it. That's not true of some of the other writers that have died :-(

Deleted user January 28, 2014

This. gypsy~ and Steve (confusedvt) were friends. And I'd read them still; it was like they were still there.

Dead and gone... just like in real life.

Laurie Deleted user ⋅ January 28, 2014

gypsy~ had a blog elsewhere, and while she did not write some of the more personal entries there, she did write there, so all is not lost with her. All the other writers we've lost are just gone I think :-(

http://be11a1oma.wordpress.com/ is where gypsy~ kept some of her words. Thankfully she had something off of OD as well.

Deleted user Laurie ⋅ January 28, 2014

Ah, thanks so much for that. We'd talked back and forth for a while and I loved her writing and the way she thought. But I lost touch with her when I left OD (which was a while ago, now). It was quite a shock when I learned she'd died.

Deleted user January 28, 2014

How sad. I didn't even think about that.

Teflon Superhero January 28, 2014

I've thought about this as well. My consolation is this: The words will be lost to us, but if it was important enough to them to share, their families knew, and probably have a copy to keep. If they didn't tell their families, then I will rest easy knowing their words will finally be at peace with them as they wanted.

In the end, it's the memories, not the words that will live on :)

Deleted user January 28, 2014

yeah it is so sad... you are right. there should be a way for those memories to be kept alive somehow

Loopy Hooky January 28, 2014

I didn't really think of that, I wasn't ever friends with anyone who died. I'm still incredibly sad that it's gone though. Maybe it's because the "dream" (for lack of a better word) that OD would rise from the ashes and the sense of community it started out with would come back too. I know I have the most important as part of my life, but I'll never be able to go back and reread old entries or read old notes the way I do now. I know it was completely neglected and mismanaged towards the end. But it's "the old days" I miss - and will miss in days (years?) to come. It was the first place that felt like "home" to me online.

mutedexposure January 28, 2014

I am going to miss so many of those who have gone on. I dont know what else to do except wave goodbye at their diary and hope my memories last longer than their written word.

Fawkes Gal June 20, 2014

There was someone I knew only briefly on there who committed suicide and yeah, it sucks that everything he wrote is now just gone. :(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.