March Madness! in Majimaze Musing!

  • March 26, 2017, 10:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hi there folks! Thought it was time to do another entry.
March WAS mad for me.Started off with a near drought and just as I like it with lovely sunshine and warmth and a breeze. Then by the 8th March, all had disappeared under a torrent of rain for 5 DAYS!

Yes, my little abode was flooded again and I tell you, after 2 previous floods, it was almost enough to drive me NUTS! I am fine now and will just recount the mess briefly.
I woke at 3am on March 8th to no clock radio and the sound of pouring rain. I turned on my phone torch and my little dog Taitai stared u at me with big frightened eyes. ‘ Help Mum’ he seemed to be saying. He sleeps in the living room so was unusual to seem him by the bed!

I wandered out to the living room straight into water! One sweep of the torch showed me everything was underwater and the power was off. After much hearty cursing I opened the back door to and absolute torrent rushing by and coming in still! All sorts of debri including bins balls and waterbottles floating! It was 4 hours until dawn and I could do anything at all. My bed was still dry tho. And I had filled a Thermos flask with boiling water before going to bed just in case. I had also put up barricades against all 3 points of entry. The ranchsliders , the back door and the adjoining door to the garage. Nothing stopped this flood!
So, I made a cup of tea, lit the big candle I have and the dog and I went back to bed. I turned on to Facebook and posted my plight! The first reply was from dear Rachel ,Pollys daughter and then others commiserating with me.

At 7am I sent a text to daughter Penny and she said to come on over to her place and texted the older daughter Janet who arrived with coffees and chocolate slice for brekky. Then I phoned landlord and Council. We all went back to my place a little later and Janet got power going again and we shifted furniture ,rugs etc all out to the garage tack shed and I rang the local firm who sucks out water and puts in driers, with the landlords agreement to pay for it.
All this time it continued raining heavily.The torrent coming down the driveway from the road was like a raging river! Came through the house paddock too. And all ended up at my place! The culvert up at the road had blocked adding to the torrent.UGH!!

I felt marginally better when reports came out of huge flooding elsewhere on the Island and the guys sucked up most of the water in my house and turned on the huge driers, then 12 hours later, they got them back and 2 little dehumidifiers sucked the rest out, with occasional beep beeps! Lovely little daleks!The thing is,the rain didn’t stop for 4 more days!

I am over it now,3 weeks later. I have lost more photos, and chucked a heap of stuff, and then last night it rained very heavily again.
THIS time I was prepared!In the last 2 weeks, Penny had shovelled a heap of silt and rubbish from around the back door, I mean, wheel barrow loads and my son was visiting and he cleared all the gutterings and shovelled more.The rugs are all dry, one chucked out and so, last night I really blocked severely all entry points, and filled my Thermos again. And woke up this morning with a completely dry house. It had rained heavily all night too. What a relief!

The next madness was nearly as bad. For 5 years I have occasionally been abused by a woman with severe mental health issues.

It all relates to a very bad time in one of my daughters lives which has been resolved and paid for by my daughter with help from family and her nearly dying from a split aorta from too much adrenalin going throught her system and splitting the aorta and forming a clot. the whole issue was dreadful and huge mistakes made by BOTH parties.My daughter is fine,however her marriage broke up and she had to recover her health.

After that,all of us were harassed and abused by the other parties. It was sickening. The woman involved is the mother of one of the protaganists and she pursues ME! Horrible as I am not guilty of anything,just being the mother of my daughter. 18 months ago I laid a complaint with the Police and with my daughters consent told them all the facts and put them in touch with my daughters lawyer. The Police went to the woman to and gave her a warning. All was quiet until last Tuesday. I was in a very public place talking to a friend. She always chooses public places: eg. Supermarket, Library car parks. This one was thee foyer of the Post Office!

She pulled up in her car and jumped out and came straight to me and started yelling all these acccusations my daughters name calling me the ‘bitch mother of crims and on and on,swearing all the time! My friend was shocked and and I was worried for her. The other times I have ignored her and not engaged and just taken it on the chin. I couldn’t this time.I couldn’t leave my friend. I yelled at her and told her to go away.It made her worse and she shoved me and came right into my face and yelled again,spitting on me. I moved my friend out of the way and turned my back on this mad woman and she went, leaving everyone around me staring and my friend so upset. I felt sick and nearly crying and got the next bus home.
I told my family as I was going to report her again. My son and his fiance were back from working in the Chatham Islands for 4 months and were up here for a few days. He came with me to the Police Satation to support me. I went through the entire business again and the upshot is that this time is a Formal Warning. She is not allowed near me again. If she does it again,she will be arrested and charged. My dear friend has offered to be my witness, however I was reluctant to let her and ultimately didn’t need to.

That is good, for now. She hates me. And scares me. I am to call the emergency number if it ever happens again. What hurts me so much is that it is all PUBLIC! I am 73 years old,blameless, and badly scarred. I refuse to let it change my life, however, I am only human.

And both these incidents, the floods and this woman have made my life miserable this March!So on Friday the 31st of March I will kick this last month out with gusto!!

There have been beautiful moments too.The look of huge love in my sons eyes when I was telling my story to the Police,the huge help from family and friends during the flood clean-up
and my ‘bounce-back’ has returned!.God has been good to me.

Next time a better story folks I hope!!

Lotsa love and hugsxxxxxx


GypsyWynd March 26, 2017

Sorry about the flood. Glad your family helped and you got it cleaned up.
That woman sounds unhinged. I'd be terrified. Good for you for reporting her.

crystal butterfly March 27, 2017

The woman sounds like she has a huge mental problem and could be dangerous. I am glad you got your house all sorted out.

TruNorth March 30, 2017

Nasty experience with the extreme flooding. Thank goodness you had some help with that. Your stalker sounds like a deranged person. I expect that onlookers would see her as the guilty party, not you. Hope she is kept at bay.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.