March sucks less? in Ponderings of the Universe

  • March 25, 2017, 9:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, things have…sort of improved.

My aunt is still a wreck. Her deceased husband’s family have been truly ugly. They started out offering to help with things over at her house only to dig through drawers looking for a will that does not exist. They’ve been very shifty and essentially dropped of pretense of concern. My aunt and uncle were going through some tough times. He was an alcoholic, which was really negatively affect their relationship. For a few weeks this summer, they lived in separate houses. They did still deeply love each other, despite his addiction. Anyway, his relatives seem to think that because they had some issues, Jeff MUST have created a new will that did not include my aunt or their daughter, and instead left everything to them. Hell, one of the sisters even called Yvonne’s lawyer asking for a will and then stated she wanted Jeff’s wishes to be followed so she would search for a will until her dying day (despite my limited understanding that a will is not valid if produced over a year after death and also likely not valid if not properly filed…). WTF. Never mind that Jeff was working on making an LLC (or something like that) for Yvonne naming her sole owner of all the assets and that paperwork was meant to be finalized a few weeks after his passing had he not died. There’s been a whole lot of other crazy bullshit as well. It’s like living an very long episode of Jerry Springer.

My grandmother is still not doing well. For a while she was not eating much of anything at all and we really thought she was going to die. We got her on Lexapro for her agitation and she was diagnosed with oral thrush, which as also been treating. Since, she’s been having ups and downs. The hospice care people have been very kind and helpful. It’s hard to say what’s going to happen. I mean, yes, she’s going to die eventually and in the nearish future, it’s a matter of when. My mom’s taken a family leave of absence from work to spend more time with her and also because she was feeling so worn down that she felt like she was going to make herself sick.

This last week of work has been absolutely insane. It’s been like every day was a full moon. I had some really weird cases. Tuesday I felt like Dr. Death. I had an emergency patient die and 2 euthanasias within the span of a few hours plus some really difficult cases. That day I made 9 people cry. That’s a new record I hope I never beat :/

Today, I had a Saturday shift and saw 13 appointments in 3 and a half hours. IT WAS INSANE!

Anyway, I’m tired and somewhat burnt out. But less burnt out than last month so…that’s good, I guess.

Thank you all for your support. I’ve been kind of scarce around here (mostly reading but not noting…bad Cally) but I truly have appreciated your kind notes :)


Jigger March 27, 2017

Your poor aunt. One phrase I learned working in the funeral home: Where there's a will, there's a family.

I'm an Okking Fool Jigger ⋅ May 31, 2017

Ha! That's fantastic!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.