Hello, my name is Laurie... and I'm an atheist. in Things that matter

  • July 11, 2013, 5:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had a very strange conversation today with my mother. My entire family, on all sides, is extremely religious. My dad's side, my mom's side, and my in-laws. All of them.

I am an atheist.

That does not mean I feel superior to others. I am well aware that I am very likely WRONG, and I am ok with that. The amount of knowledge I have is pretty much nil. I will just say that I've never felt any sort of connection with anything religious. And I do not judge other based upon their religious beliefs.

I told my mother today that I was an atheist.. and I seriously felt like I just divulged a deep dark dirty secret. Why should I feel ashamed that I do not believe in god??

I sat there waiting nervously for her response.. and we were chatting on Facebook, so all I saw was "typing... " and then it would stop, then "typing... " then it would stop.. I was like oh man, she's going to tell me I'm evil. For those of you that do not know.. my mother and I did not speak for many years, and only recently reconciled our differences. I went to go visit her and that side of my family.. it had been 16 years since I had last been near any of them. So.. I was super nervous because what if she said I was evil and she was no longer going to talk to me?

I could lie and say that my feelings wouldn't be bothered by anything like that from her, but I would be lying. I love her, and I desperately want her to understand me and accept me. Much of our separation was due to an extreme misunderstanding of each other and our personalities. I really would prefer this separation not occur again.

So I sat there.. feeling ashamed.. and her response was pretty much perfect. I was SO relieved and happy..

"ok can i ask why you feel that way? and its ok that you believe what you believe... but no i would not share that with them and they really dont need to know your beliefs.....you would still do a wonderful job.... and everyone has a right to believe or not believe ..... and thats great.....you do have a big heart and that in itself is great.....and you really dont have to go to church to be considered a christian or right with god and we will all be judged one day i do believe that but it wont be bad becausev you never went to or attened a church....but one thing is you do feel like a family there and i learned soooo much wqhen i started going again ....but you are fine as a person , & a mother and everywhere else just as you are"

And I felt way better :-D Incidentally.. she was referring to an ethical dilemma I am having. A really good job, that I am qualified for, and would do wonderfully is at a Christian daycare center. Any opinions on that? I am not anti-religious, incidentally, I just don't personally believe.. so if you were a Christian parent, would you be upset that one of your childrens' caretakers was not Christian?


simple mind July 11, 2013

I'm atheist too (says the guy with the Moses icon). :D

My first question would be, why is it a Christian daycare center as opposed to simply a daycare center? Is there an expectation that children will learn specifically Christian values while there? If so, you might consider whether or not you would feel comfortable in an environment with this type of expectation.

Deleted user July 11, 2013

I work at a church and we have a christian preschool. Learning/teaching about Christianity is part of the curriculum. I would expect a teacher to be able to have a conversation about Christianity with me, just as someone walking in off the street would expect me to be able to talk about the denomination and my faith. I don't attend church, haven't for years, yet I feel a very close connection with Christ and have worked in the religious field for over 20 years. I think church is the perfect place to ask questions and explore believes. I love the questions more than the answers!!!

Deleted user July 11, 2013

Oh, and I'm really glad your mother was supportive.

Deleted user August 09, 2013

Hi Laurie! :-) As a Christian parent, it doesn't bother me if people who take care of my son are not Christian, so long as they don't try to push their beliefs (or lack of belief) on him.

ParyNoid September 05, 2013

The only problem I would ever have with anyone being religious or not religious is if they were trying to force their opinions on my child. You would not do that, so it shouldn't really be an issue.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.