The Couch ... Hump Lead Pueblo Colorado in Tales of the Jointed Track

  • March 22, 2017, 9:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Dave Van Buskirk, a fellow engineer, and a previous trainman said something about hitting a couch.

Maybe I was special, maybe it was coincidence.

Pueblo, CO

Santa Fe and BN Extras into the hump. Yeah if yer a drag, and not a change out front on the main. Or even a pick up and leave time. You’re heading into the hump tracks. Hump 1, Hump2, Hump 3, LOL Hump 2 crossover to Hump 3..ad nausea.

Okay, ya take the signal at 29th Street.. lined down the hump. You are heavy, but you know your sets. I would guess this is a 3% grade or more for 1300 feet. The Hump 3 switch is at the base of this. Might be lined, might not. Can ya stop? Dunno, can ya ? Me, I tried to make it work, and I think I had a success level of 90%. I took it personally if I had to make the brakeman walk 4 cars and hoop on the fly. Well sometime ya can’t make a pinpoint spot. I am new and spot as best I can.

A BN EXTRA SOUTH:

A call at Johns-Manville, and Instructions “Hump 2, cross to hump 3..Cut-off, contact the Hump foreman..Class 12 and power to Fuel track 3”. Instructions repeated and we are yarding the train.

As we take the signal, they are braking well. On the switch the “COUCH” Well, got to stop, although we are lined into Hump 2, Okay curse words. The brakeman and I off load this bitch. and yard the train.

The switchman, on the hump job gives us the highball to proceed. We tied up on a trip north, after rest.

Extra South part 2:

A drag, so what. In the Hump. There is that Fucking Couch again. Move it…report it, yard the train

Coal Train into Hump 3:

Okay, we hump coal trains time to time, either due to crew rest, or there is another Comanche train unloading at Minnequa/Southern Jct area and can’t be taken. Okay, logistics..a railroad problem not mine. I have brought it to destination for my territory.

A Flashing Red at 29th, we are told to yard in Hump 3 and tie ‘em down. The Caboose will tell us when were are in the clear. A good set, and if I have to stop. okay, or we can proceed if lined in.

There is that Damned couch again, on the switch. We stop, and the brakeman and I remove it, once again. The brakeman lines into Hump 3, and we yard the coal load.

“BN 5846 Coal Load to the Yardmaster Pueblo”. “Yardmaster, go ahead”. “Jug !!, I have stopped for this couch the last three trips, into the Hump and have moved it and reported it.If I stop for it AGAIN!!!, I am moving it clear and sticking three lighted fusees into it and remedy the problem”. “Don’t do that!!, we’ll get it taken care of”. “Well ya better,. or I will”.

I never saw that couch again. LOL


Last updated May 24, 2018


ChallengerSeven March 23, 2017

:-)

I wonder who kept moving the couch? S

Brakeshoe Bob ChallengerSeven ⋅ March 24, 2017

Kids put it there. I think they waited till dark or at an opportune time, and placed it back on the tracks. LOL

ChallengerSeven Brakeshoe Bob ⋅ March 25, 2017

Kids "those days'...as opposed to kids 'these days'?!?!?

Thanks for the reply...and for writing! :-)

MageB March 23, 2017

Funny. LOL

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.