Late Winter Update in In the Meadow

  • March 16, 2017, 1:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The musical “Oliver” at Kayla’s school starts tonight. She is in the chorus. The show is on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights and there is a matinee on Sunday. The past week she has been rehearsing every day after school. I have been there most nights also, getting the set and costumes ready with the other parents. We are all excited and a little nervous.

Otherwise the school year has been going along fairly well. The kids had a few snow days. Timmy and Kayla are in ninth grade. They will be taking the New York Regents exams in June. They had one Regents exam in eighth grade, Algebra One. This year they will have Regents in most of their classes. They are practicing using tests from prior years. The twins are both taking Spanish this year. They started when they were in seventh grade.

Timmy is on the school ice hockey team. They had their last day on Friday for the ninth grade and junior varsity teams. He likes it and wants to play again next year. He has been playing different positions. It looks like he is more cut out to be an offensive player.

Aaron is in sixth grade. He is in his last year of elementary school. He likes math and social studies. They are studying about World War I now. I am starting to see little bits of adolescence in him, but for the most part he is still a kid. He is playing on a youth hockey team and taking karate.

Kayla has been going to meetings of the school chess club. They are set up next Thursday to play the chess club at another high school across town.

I had a cavity in one of my teeth and had it filled this past week. This is the first cavity I have had since I was a teenager. I have been having a problem with my gums getting swollen. I am trying to brush and floss better and use a fluoride rinse. Most of the swelling has been in that one spot where the cavity was, so I am not surprised that I had a problem with that tooth.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.