State of the Viewing - Rejects, Bubbles, and a Returning Favorite in Everything Else

  • March 14, 2017, 12:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I think it is time to update the state of my television viewing. I started the “year/season” adding new series:
Bull
This is Us
Lethal Weapon
Designated Survivor
MacGyver
The Good Place
Secrets & Lies season 2
Notorious
Timeless
Conviction
NCIS (re-add)

Returning series included:
Blindspot
Lucifer
Law & Order: SVU
Modern Family
Chicago P.D.
Grey’s Anatomy
Chicago Med
The Blacklist
How To Get Away with Murder
Last Man Standing
Quantico
The Flash
Arrow
Chicago Fire
The Vampire Diaries
DC’s Legends of Tomorrow

Shows I Quit
Bull
This is Us
The Good Place
Secrets & Lies season 2
Notorious
Conviction
Quantico

On The Bubble (at least for me)
Designated Survivor
Timeless
NCIS (re-add)
Blindspot
Modern Family
How To Get Away with Murder
The Flash
Arrow
Chicago Fire
DC’s Legends of Tomorrow

Still Viewing
Lethal Weapon
MacGyver
Lucifer
Law & Order: SVU
Chicago P.D.
Grey’s Anatomy
Chicago Med
The Blacklist
Last Man Standing
The Vampire Diaries - sadly series finale was this past Friday. Dalena forever!

Bubble…
Designated Survivor - if Kirkman doesn’t get a little more Jack Bauer, I am done. I am tired of the whiney nature he has.

Timeless - up to NBC right now

NCIS - a readd this season, been a slow go for me. I am more than over the nuances of Abby & Ducky.

Blindspot - I will be surprised if this gets a season three. This season has been total shit.

Modern Family - a little played out. There isn’t a lot of new stuff. Just feels like it has run its course.

How To Get Away with Murder - seriously how these five…err four students are still in law school and not in prison along with their professor and her seemingly very inept lawyer, Bonnie is beyond me. Plus towards the beginning of the season they were ranked at the BOTTOM of their class so honestly, how the fuck are they still in school and paying for it?

The Flash - Flashpoint, Kong City, Reverse, Zoom, Savitar…fuck off. I thought the stupid alien crossover event was bad enough, but now there is going to be a Supergirl/Flash musical episode? Seriously, get fucked. I can’t handle this shit anymore. I am so done with it.

Arrow - Remember when season two sucked dog balls? And then season three was fucking amazing? Yeah, it’s back to sucking dog balls. I don’t miss Laurel in the least, but these new recruits? They have zero story. I miss Thea, and I don’t like that they are changing Felicity. I am just done with the pull between Ollie being a vigilante and/or “hero”.

DC’s Legends of Tomorrow - it was funny at first, but then they killed Snart and things went to shit pretty quickly. I was happy when Dhark was gone from Arrow, but now he shows up on Legends with Reverse Flash and things instantly become a shit show. Not to mention that if you watch(ed) Timeless, the two shows often visited the same time periods in the same week. No thanks.

Chicago Fire - First, when One Chicago gets their crossovers going, they are pure fucking magic. But when left to its own, Chicago Fire fails to get a spark going. For a show named Chicago FIRE and set in a fire station, where 90% of the cast are firefighters, there is very little fire these days. Boden wouldn’t still have a job with all the shit he seems to step in. I am tired of “someone’s trying to take Boden down”. I wish they would fucking succeed already, but then we would have Alderman Casey fixing it and not knowing he just got into some corrupt shit. How many lucky breaks can Boden get? Saving the Assistant Mayor and thus he gets his squad back? This show can get fucked.

Moving on to some mid-season pickups/premiers

Scandal - blow it out your ass. They made it very clear that when they came back it was not going to be the campaign. That lasted for half a second. Instead of having the campaign play out, we get fucking flashbacks and I hate all of it. And now they are throwing in some sort of Super B613? At this point, I am hoping for a Designated Survivor sort of event to just put us all out of our misery. Oh and they really need to get Jake’s wife to stop calling Olivia his sister, because gross.

APB - just about the dumbest show I have seen in a long time. I knew Doubt wouldn’t make it past three episodes (I actually hit the nail on the head when I called it after two from just the previews), but the fact that they are still airing this, must mean that Fox has nothing else to put on and paid a lot of money for no-named actors and shit writers.

24: Legacy - I didn’t even finish the second episode. The feels are just not there. Nothing had me on the edge of my seat.

Chicago Justice - This has me a little more engaged than any other mid-season premiere.

Taken - my god Jennifer Beals will ruin anything won’t she?

The Blacklist: Redemption - enjoying it quite more than I thought I would. Loving that Tom is still very present and Solomon has actually become likable. Scottie is a treat, except they really need to resolve that implied sexual tension between her and Tom because, as with Olivia/Jake…gross. I didn’t need Loche to show up though. Why must he be in every fucking show?

A returning favorite and my latest full-time addiction:

Major Crimes - not really sure what made me get back into the groove, but towards the middle of February I started binging all seasons to catch up and now I can’t stop! I am the proud owner of all 4 seasons on DVD (Season 5 releases in May) and because you have to have it all, also owner of all seven seasons of The Closer. How could I forget the dry humor? Getting ready to start from the beginning this weekend with The Closer and then run straight through both shows because…it’s better than anything else on television right now.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.