I have looked up his concerned email again and am staring at it. He made a real effort to be helpful - and there's an oddness in the paragraphs that I think is a detectable struggle for coherence. I noticed the oddness at the time; it added to my disturbed feeling.

"You can see Facebook was about 24 hrs. late in sending out
your posting, but I am erratic in checking Facebook, and was
quite startled to learn what has recently happened to your brain
functioning.

"I've been afflicted by the problem for several years now, and
Mary may have some information and right now she might be able
to offer some of the terminology, but right now I can't recall any
of that, except for Alzheimer's disease. I think she can rely on her
housemate(s) for help in keeping up with house and family affairs,
and her plant business, but your interests and ambitions are
pretty much your own affair.

"My only suggestion is that you do become actively engaged with
services and research at Kaiser Permanente, and that you privately
develop a routine incorporating incidental text notes and brief voice
recordings to get through some of the gaps that might be most
important to avoid. Of course, quacks and hucksters are ready with
their offerings, and the media are quick with their hasty items.

"You may already have noticed how strange it is that some
recollections make their appearance at a totally irrelevant time.
But I think you don't want to gamble on that for a lot of your work."

Damn.

(Mom's only housemate is me.)