Well hello. in Site Updates

  • Jan. 27, 2014, 3:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh my, the internet is all ablaze today! Or, at least, our tiny corner of it. OD is shutting down! Wow. I have history there. It's worthy of an entry at some point.

Meanwhile, looks like the Prosebox traffic has more than doubled from what I typically see! Since I don't have much time at the moment, I'll just say, welcome to all the new people. I'll get around to comment replies later. :)


MissMeg January 27, 2014

Time for the paid Prosebox version to come out ;)

Deleted user January 27, 2014

It feels strange, and unexpected, but I'm so glad you made this place. You saved us all, yay! :) ;)

Deleted user January 27, 2014

Like other people just said, time to monetize! I'm sad for OD, but for some reason, being at Prosebox has encouraged me to write regularly again.

perfunctory Deleted user ⋅ January 27, 2014

Agreed. Something about the fresh clean space jump-started my desire to write again; I'm very grateful for PB!

Queen La Freaka Deleted user ⋅ January 29, 2014

Im also sad for OD, lots of history there - I downloaded it, with notes! The Diary Master was kind giving us notice, he could have just shut it down. Ive been preoccupied with facebook so OD was suffering. But now Im here, thinning out my fb posts.

missing maui January 27, 2014

Yeah, Prosebox was the breath of fresh air I needed even before OD shut down. Thanks for this place!!

minnie58 January 27, 2014

Thank you!

~breakingfree~ January 27, 2014

Thanks for this place. I made the choice to switch just yesterday - before the DM made his announcement. Hope you can cope with us all! I look forward to getting to know this site.

fauna January 27, 2014

Onwards and upwards! Thank you for this- the loss of OD would have been so much harder without this site! Xox

Icklewriter January 27, 2014

Hello - and thanks for the site. Struggling with posting pics - have followed your instructions to the letter, and even copied your code for the monkey pic, inserting my URL (proper one, not the one with the bells and whistles from flickr) and it just won't work.

simple mind Icklewriter ⋅ January 27, 2014

If you paste your picture URL into the address bar of your browser, does the picture show up on a white background? (i.e. nothing else in the background)

haredawg drools January 27, 2014

I haven't read the other notes, but the lifeboat email mentions prosebox by name. Yeah, OD has large chunk of my personal history. Thank you.

Icklewriter January 27, 2014

Hi, yes, I can get the plain pic URL no problem. I thought it was a flickr issue as they have some problem with people sharing to 3rd party sites, so I tried it from the 365 project and I get the same thing - just a little image box but no image. I do understand how to copy the URL etc, but every way I've tried refuses to work. I used your monkey code and it was fine. I copied it, using my URL and computer said no.

Teflon Superhero Icklewriter ⋅ January 27, 2014

Hi, Icklewriter! I'm just skimming the comments and see you meant to reply directly to Simple Mind. Even though it'll be seen because you're replying directly to the entry, you can click reply under his note to you and it will reply directly to him inline!

Welcome to prosebox!

Icklewriter January 27, 2014

It's OK, I've done it. There was some extraneous code added which I removed, and voila! Phew! :-)

Deleted user January 27, 2014

Oh, wow, so glad I never got started there, and went right here from the beginning.

Soul Karma January 27, 2014

It's a sad day, but I embrace the changes here at PB. Thank you for giving us refugees a place to call home.

cyndication January 27, 2014

You're about to become The Man.

:)

Newzlady cyndication ⋅ January 27, 2014

He already is! :)

simple mind cyndication ⋅ January 27, 2014

Long time no see. :)

I need tea. January 27, 2014

Linda January 27, 2014

I'm so glad I pitched tent here some months ago.

pb reader Linda ⋅ January 27, 2014

Good move, Linda Kay.

RoseS January 27, 2014

I was one of the early ones in OD... 1999 and glad to have come here early too. Can we have back up options soon? well, when you aren't so busy!

e3 January 27, 2014

I am one. I will miss OD, but adapt.

mom_of_2_boys January 27, 2014

Is OD already out for good? I can't get onto the site to get my stuff downloaded off of there? :(

Lobbastah January 27, 2014

OD is now like Black Friday, with people stepping all over each other to download their diaries! So glad that I shopped early.

~jillybean~ Lobbastah ⋅ January 28, 2014

Me too

Queen La Freaka ~jillybean~ ⋅ January 29, 2014

mee three!

Jane Says January 27, 2014

SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY

Open Diary is dead, long live Open Diary!

simple mind Jane Says ⋅ January 27, 2014

All right, all right! I'll TAKE your money... soon. ;)

Jane Says simple mind ⋅ January 28, 2014

Alrighty, then. Don't make me beg. It's not pretty.

Queen La Freaka simple mind ⋅ January 29, 2014

ya, i was considering becoming a lifetime member recently - good thing I saved my moola for future prosebox membership ;)

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm January 27, 2014

was able to download my diary over there early this afternoon but, i wasn't able to do it with notes. will try again and again to download it with notes til od is gone for good. i'll be going thru the new diaries every day so i can locate my od friends and latch onto them here. thank you for this place. i found it in november of last year i think and started writing right away. take care,

Deleted user January 27, 2014

Thank you, sir.

Overachiever January 27, 2014

OK, time to get that "import diary" and api working for the mobile app. Jes' saying. ;-)

XzucchiniX January 27, 2014

wow- wildness indeed. i did download my OD today.....

Deleted user January 27, 2014

Prosebox is the new black. Welcome new PBoxers!

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ January 27, 2014

"It's like, how much more black could this be? And the answer is none... none more black."

EvequeFou January 27, 2014

You should see about picking up the opendiary.com domain once it's gone and expired, then 302 everyone to a "Transitioning from Open Diary" page here.

simple mind EvequeFou ⋅ January 27, 2014

Excellent idea! It will be interesting to see what kind of competition emerges for getting that domain. Or maybe the DM will just keep in renewed and hang on to it as a memento.

Raven January 27, 2014

Wow, SM, I had no idea you were tied to Open Diary at all. That's so cool. I am so waiting for the ability to pay for some of the other features you might offer in the future.

simple mind Raven ⋅ January 27, 2014

Howdy! Did I know you on OD?

Raven simple mind ⋅ January 28, 2014

I am starting to wonder, since I was around that site a lot between the mid 90s and 2000s. ... I had several names.. DrusillasServant,AlliWhteLight all kinds... and my final one was ~Zie~ but you were doing this site when I rejoined with that one, so it's possible, but... anyway, maybe we can just be friends here anyway!

Life Is For Living January 27, 2014

So for those of us that joined PB what seems like a long time ago, well before the official announcement of OD shutting down.. we are like the cool kids now, right? We did it before it was cool? Ah yeah. Most definitely.

I imagine this place is about to blow up even MORE & soon.

Raven Life Is For Living ⋅ January 28, 2014

-high fives- We definitely are.

~jillybean~ Life Is For Living ⋅ January 28, 2014

Word up

cricket_factor January 27, 2014

Thank goodness for YOU - we've got a place to GO to.

~jillybean~ January 28, 2014

Loved lifetime membership at OD.

Songbird3 January 28, 2014

Are you ready for the influx?

simple mind Songbird3 ⋅ January 28, 2014

I was born ready. ;)

Deleted user January 28, 2014

Thank you for the welcome...nice to find another cozy corner to write in!

HersheyKiss January 28, 2014

Glad to see some familiar faces in a site that has less bugs- hopefully will start actually writing again.

MC Freckles January 28, 2014

I haven't written at Od in a while.. but it had been my home for... geez, I think 2001? Crazy to think about. Excited to be here though!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.